We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thats not a picture of the bear inn wincanton?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wincanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bear Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Wincanton B&B and Inns
somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“thats not a picture of the bear inn wincanton?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

that IS NOT the Bear inn wincanton in photo!!! this is not good for there business as people could be expecting something completely different,and if you were looking for this building, you are certainly going to be disappointed!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RainbowSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have just spent Hogswatch in Wincanton, eating the splendid fare at the Bear Inn.
This is a wonderful old traditional pub with a log fire, a genuine welcome, an excellent selection in ales, wines and ciders and amazing food.

This was a very busy weekend with over 200 people visiting to celebrate Hogswatch (Terry Pratchett's Discworld New Year). The service was impeccable, the smiles genuine and the food splendid.

I urge you to visit at any time :) - I'm definitely going again in December for the Christmas Dinner - all month for under £12!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were at a car rally in the town and visited this pub for a drink. We had a very very warm welcome.from the landlady and the locals, who were interested in the old cars. Beer was excellent - even better than expected. It felt very cosy and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineJones44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Came for a family wedding in Wincanton and stayed 2 nights - amazing service. Couldn't do enough for us especially as the wedding was on a Sunday and could have been quite difficult to get a taxi back in the evening but couldn't fault the willingness to help with all. Breakfast was excellent and the food in the Restaurant was good quality too with a good choice and fantastic value. The rooms aren't decorated as most up to date but are very comfortable and spacious with lots of storage for all the clutter you seem to need for such an occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz_crock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Travelling to attend a Midsummer ball in Wincanton at the Bear Inn, we stopped over. Pre-visit communication was excellent via phone, discussing prices, room choices and food options. Arriving later than hoped Friday night, my son and I were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to our room along the quaint corridor of this Grade II listed historic coaching inn. Full English breakfast was served in the mornings at a time to suit all concerned and offers were made to make a sandwich later if required. Good choice of well priced meals available to eat over the weekend, although on this occasion we did not require any. The en-suite room was homely and snug, with all the essential items included. We are looking forward to visit Wincanton again later in the year, when although we are not stopping at the Bear Inn, we have been warmly welcomed to book breakfast there. An excellent location from which to explore the delights of Somerset and Wiltshire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madelainetheragdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to a nearby event. The outside of the premises looks run down and shabby but once inside it was perfectly adequate for our needs. The staff were very helpful and locked our expensive bikes away for the night and got them out when the premises was closed to the public.
We had a twin room with en suite. It was clean and comfortable and the shower was good. The corridors were a little creaky but as we were the last to bed and the first up we probably caused more of a problem than it being a bother to us.
We had to leave before breakfast was served and we weren't offered an alternative (or any money off!!) but that was our choice so would hardly say that was a complaint.
It's not The Ritz but if you need to stay in Wincanton then this is centrally located has off-road parking and does a job for the money you pay.
As one reviewer put it could be so much nicer but that would then be reflected in the price no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 386BobD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at the Bear for two nights, double en suite for single occupancy. It's an old character building with loads of beams and loads of parking, right in the centre of Wincanton. Staff are great and can't do enough to make you feel welcome. The rooms have recently been done up and look great. Comfy bed and a great nights sleep. It's an old character building with loads of beams. Food is excellent, 16oz steak and chips one night and ham egg and chips the second. Absolutely perfect. And the same chef cooks breakfast to your liking. I asked for an early breakfast at 7.30 and it was no trouble. If, like me you're fed up with the faceless chains, this is refreshing change with interesting and friendly clientele who like a chat. Value for money and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wincanton hotels
1.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn

Property: The Bear Inn
Address: 12 Market Place, Wincanton BA9 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Wincanton
The Bear Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing