We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeding The Inner Bear”
Review of The Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wincanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bear Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My Group consisted of around 40 persons,for a christmas Dinner,the tables laid in perfect christmas array,plates were HOT,food was excellent and plenty of it if you wanted more,Loved it all.
The public bar side was warm and friendly with a gorgeous warm fire,which a certain someone Married to me,decided to be cinderella.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tired, threadbare, shabby decor
Poor beds, dark dingy (family) room
Unfriendly (almost hostile) breakfast service

Why could it be so much better?
The Bear is a fantastic building, and with a bit of work, could be a superb B&B/pub hotel

The daytime food is almost always good - sometimes excellent
The daytime service is friendly and prompt

If only the same could be said for breakfast

Never again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohforfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I eat steak for a living! This was an awesome steak, 16 oz rump, perfectly cooked and great service! A++++ we came from bournemouth cycling and this waste best pub in town! Value for money!!! Hands down...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoondog440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A friendly quiet typical English pub/hotel, a little on the shabby side but will soon be under renovation according to the manageress. The room was average, but the bed was extremely comfortable and the staff were very friendly, I ate in the restaurant twice and I must say the meals were excellent and very reasonably priced. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay you can't go far wrong staying here providing you aren't expecting luxuries. Good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for room No.7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

There is a Bear Inn in Wincanton, we stayed there last weekend. Food and drink is good with veggie option for breakfast. Our room was very dated, wardrobe falling apart, bed too soft, shower either burnt you or was freezing. Our friends had better rooms so don't take room 7 if offered!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Loved it here, stayed at one of the cottages which are just a short walk from the pub so you dont get the evening noise. The staff where always friendly and the breakfast was great. They serve food all day and i would definatly try the steak pie, one of the best ive tried .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkey2009Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

There seems to be a Bear in in Street AND another one in Wincanton. My boyfriend and I definitely stayed in the one in Wincanton only two weeks ago. We received a very warm welcome. On arrival we were served dinner, even thought the kitchen was about to close and we enjoyed the Full English Breakfast (with a vegerarian option) the next morning. Us being German, the staff was very helpful explaining some items on the menu, unknown to us. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulialovesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wincanton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
2.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holbrook Manor
Holbrook Manor
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
289 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Willows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn

Address: 12 Market Place, Wincanton BA9 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range: $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Wincanton
The Bear Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing