We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The promised return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holbrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband worked in the Holbrook over 40 years ago and promised he would return
We found a deal on secret escape which was a bargain giving us dinner one night
Our room according to my husband was his room he lived in when boarding during his employment
On the first night there had been a problem with the heating and we were so cold we climbed into bed and requested a fan heater

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Surreysurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear EpsomTwo,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted your husband was able to return to Holbrook after so long and hope that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Holbrook House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 625 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

What charming country hotel. We had a lovely room, very comfortable and clean and spacious. Lovely log fires, and lots of comfy lounges to sit and chill out The grounds are beautiful. Very peaceful location. Nice spar facilities, we enjoyed using the pool and sauna during our stay. The food was amazing and the staff very attentive. We we're well looked after during our stay and would definite stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear NRR 1965,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I have passed them on to the staff team here at Holbrook and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We loved Holbrook House Hotel. Lovely stately home, lovely grounds, fantastic food and a swimming pool - what more could you ask for? We stayed on the top floor and it was just as luxurious as the other floors - the corridors were as wide and our room was wonderful with a massive bathroom. Also, no black muck around the taps which you find in so many hotels.

The swimming pool/spa area was perfectly alright - we couldn't fault it - and you don't have to go outside to get to it. We were the only ones in there for most of the time.

The decor and furniture go with the house and I simply don't understand some of the comments. It's all very comfy. Surely you wouldn't expect Ikea? We really felt that we were somewhere special when walking around the hotel, it's amazing.

The food was top quality and we only wished we could have eaten there both nights. The service was just right - friendly.

Why stay in a modern square hotel with a modern square room when you can stay somewhere like this. We will definitely be returning when we are in the area again.

Tip to management: Sort out your bills. We were undercharged, queried it and the bill was increased. We then got out to the car, looked at it again and realised it still wasn't right (to your detriment) and had to go back in again. We didn't want to underpay, it's not honest and it was a fantastic stay.

Also - I don't know if you get any passing trade but we couldn't really see that it was a hotel outside, I think the sign just says Holbrook House and if we hadn't booked, we wouldn't have known that it was a hotel. Either that or we missed the hotel bit.

Room Tip: The top floor is just as good as the others. All the rooms I could glance in as they were being cle...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Helen P,

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us in August. I am delighted that you appreciated the charms of Holbrook and do hope that you visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Unfortunately we only booked for the one night on our way down to Exeter but what a lovely stay we had.The staff were very pleasant, the room was extremely comfortable and the food/service was excellent. We also made use of the spa facilities which added icing on the cake.
Having travelled to Exeter from Norwich many times it was the first time we stopped over, it wont be the last.
Steve and Les

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Stephen C,

Thank you for your kind comments. I have passed them on to the staff team at Holbrook and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

we stayed at holbrook for our pre honeymoon just after our wedding, and the stay was excellent from start to finish. The decor has been described by some as dated, but its a perfect fit to match the age of the house. the rooms are spacious with his and her sinks! in our room anyway! the breakfast in bed was served right on time at 8AM and the quality of the food overall was excellent, with poached eggs for breakfast,juice and coffee, and for our evening meal I had pan fried sea bass on a bed of crab risotto, which was very carefully presented and delicious. overall with the value for money / food/ rooms and with plenty to do in the area, we shall certainly be back next year for another 2 night stay. also if you get the opportunity to spend time in the pool sauna and spa, its well worth it, although expensive for a massage they last over an hour n half, for a full body, but completely revitalizes you during your stay.
if you want a two day break this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Jason M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your break here after your wedding and that you managed to take advantage of the spa facilities.
We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night using the Travel Zoo voucher. It was quite quirky the decor was slightly tired, (very clean) but the welcome and atmosphere was warm and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. There were lots of lovely sitting areas with roaring fires. The bedrooms were huge. The food was excellent. We stayed on the restricted menu as part of the deal rather than paying to upgrade to the main menu, but there was still plenty of choice and everything was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. We enjoyed the canapés sitting by the fire. The breakfast was excellent too. The grounds were beautiful. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear davidjo 21,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us via the Travelzoo website. Our website has various seasonal offers available and we hope that you will pay us a return visit soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having had a wonderful time before my friend and I returned to Holbrook. I am more than pleased to say that the experience was once again magical. When you walk through the door you at once feel at home. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and special. We had our beauty treatments where once again the staff were considerate and helpful. Very caring and understanding.

Some may say it needs a bit of attention to decor but it is lovely old house with masses of character which would be spoilt by a new look.

The restaurant is second to none and the meals were spectacular and delicious. I highly recommend the whole experience Holbrook gives you.

Needless to say we will be back again. Thank you Holbrook House staff, you are all special people.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views and are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Isobel K,

Thank you for your wonderful comments after your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your return visit and look forward to welcoming you to Holbrook again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
264 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
230 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Price Range: $121 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook House Hotel Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing