We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REturn visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holbrook House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having had a wonderful time before my friend and I returned to Holbrook. I am more than pleased to say that the experience was once again magical. When you walk through the door you at once feel at home. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and special. We had our beauty treatments where once again the staff were considerate and helpful. Very caring and understanding.

Some may say it needs a bit of attention to decor but it is lovely old house with masses of character which would be spoilt by a new look.

The restaurant is second to none and the meals were spectacular and delicious. I highly recommend the whole experience Holbrook gives you.

Needless to say we will be back again. Thank you Holbrook House staff, you are all special people.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views and are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Isobel K,

Thank you for your wonderful comments after your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your return visit and look forward to welcoming you to Holbrook again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 634 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely two night stay. We came for our daughter's wedding and Holbrook House turned out to be a perfect wedding venue. The food was great and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. The building has a lot of character and the grounds are very picturesque - ideal for memorable wedding photographs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Mike A,

I am delighted that your daughter's wedding was a success and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, I have passed them on the the staff team here at Holbrook.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a fabulous place. Hubby and I booked a travelzoo deal for a 1 night stay. Room, service and food excellent. The evening meal is one of the best we have ever had. The décor in some parts is looking a "little tired". However, the atmosphere and ambiance more than make up for this.
We loved the many lounge areas with heart warming open log fires. Breakfast again was an excellent meal with excellent choice and excellent service.
Would we go back? absolutely. :-)
A very big thank you to all at Holbrook House
Lord & Lady H x

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordandLadyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Lord and Lady H,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope you will return to Holbrook in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Took advantage of a Travelzoo deal - how glad we were;- the room was comfortable, the staff were all very pleasant and welcoming, and the grounds of the hotel were lovely. But best of all was the food in the restaurant - outstandingly! Would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Liz w,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you took advantage of our recent Travelzoo offer and hope that you will pay a repeat visit. Our up to date offers are always available on our website.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this period style hotel, so different from the modern standard hotel chains, where every room is more or less identical. Holbrook House is set in beautiful surroundings, and very convenient for visiting local attractions in the Wincanton area. The bed was very comfortable, and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Also the food was very good, especially the wide choice at breakfast time. Anne and Gerry Cartwright

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Gerry C,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had only one night having taken advantage of a Travelzoo offer. The welcome on arrival was friendly and professional. Our room was a pleasant surprise being large and airy with delightful period features and furniture. It had all the things you would expect in a quality hotel including an iron and ironing board which is always a bonus.

Having had a long drive and wanting to relax we decided to make use of the spa which was free to guests. The steam room and sauna were just about passable but the pool area was sadly looking a little shabby with peeling paint in places and very little in the way of a luxury feel. The 6 kids splashing around in the pool and generally doing what kids do in a pool didn't really help the situation but obviously that isn't the hotels fault.

Dinner was included in the deal but the choice was limited to a condensed a la carte menu. Canapes were served whilst we made our selections and drinks brought to us in the. morning room. The meal was excellent and served in a pleasant dining room with nicely set tables. The high level of service continued throughout the evening which in fact is the real strength of this hotel. The decor is a little dated and worn out in places but charming none the less.

We had a leisurely breakfast which like dinner the night before was delicious and plentiful. Once again the service we received was top class. Check out was simple and overall the whole experience excellent. If you enjoy a relaxed stay in pleasant but not stuffy surroundings you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: Penselwood. Large room with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve73Redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Steve73Redditch,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us. We do appreciate it when guests take the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Holbrook again.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just once in a while you stumble across a magical place and the Holbrook fits that description perfectly. My wife and me were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and we found this hotel on Travelzoo, so opted for a 2 nights stay in a Junior Suite, with a gourmet meal included on the first night. On our arrival we climbed wearily out of the car having travelled from Wales, with a rain mist descending, and instead of booking straight in walked through a stone archway to meet the sight of what must be one of the most beautiful Cedars of Lebanon branching out over a pristine lawn. We asked about this tree, and there were others of note, to be told they were planted several hundred years ago. We felt very grand enjoying the suite of rooms with its four poster bed and slipper bath, including the creaking floorboards and gurgling plumbing. Our gourmet meal encouraged us to book for the following evening, and generally the food was of a very high standard. The hotel has several sitting rooms with roaring log fires so you don't have to impinge on the enjoyment of others, and whilst you have to pay top dollar for such luxury, go on and enjoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite to fully enjoy your experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Jolly Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to Holbrook again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
271 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
989 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
364 reviews
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
16.4 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Price Range: $122 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook House Hotel Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing