We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A head above the rest”

Stags Head Inn Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A head above the rest”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the third time we have visited this pub/restaurant and on each occasion have been impressed with the quality of the food, excellent value for the money. It is a nice pub with lots of character and the staff are very good. My only criticism is that when we visited with friends which was on a Sunday afternoon, the staff had difficulty coping with the amount of people being served and there was a great amount of waiting to clear dirty plates and to get the next course. Also the staff were quite young and inexperience as with most pubs of this type. This unfortunately led to an unfortunate accident involving hot gravy being split over one of our party.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickB146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    36
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent social venue”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Can be a bit hard to find if you're not local but well worth it when you do. Visited the Stags head several times now most recently to eat with some friends visiting the area and the food lived up to expectation yet again.
Luckily for us it is just close enough to go for a quick drink as it has the ambience of a good local pub besides being a great place to eat.
All in all a little gem hidden away in the country of which there are too few of left.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent eating and relaxation”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wide ranging menu, starters, main courses and desserts. Lovely friendly staff. Cosy surroundings and a relaxing atmosphere. Good value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adtelfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived for lunch without a booking, received a great welcome and they managed to fit us (5) in at the bar. We had the very popular 'senior special' and is was really wonderful value: well cooked and well presented traditional food. Real plough-mans helpings!
PS I think it is ridiculous to criticize a restaurant and give it a "terrible" rating just because you don't bother to make a reservation and find that when you arrive it is fully booked (see below). Just accept that you messed up, and move on!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beware of the Hidden Costs”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Stags Head one weekend taking the family room and a double for friends. The family room was spacious but our friends double was cramped with the bathroom very cramped indeed.

Food offered a good choice but it was bordering on gastro and was very countrified to say the least. Prices above average but reasonable.

No local real ales on offer only green king and pedigree which disappointed.

Shock came when checking out when the owners fleeced us for an extra £40 for a child in the family room. So beware of the hidden costs and the invent a tariff prices as you go.

We have stayed at much better places and won't be repeating our visit. For a better experience try the hunters lodge a few miles away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fridayphildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stags Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Wincanton, Somerset
 
Wincanton, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 
Wincanton, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to Stags Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing