We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunters Lodge Inn
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
$127
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveler rating
305
148
24
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
148
24
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday carverylongleat safari parkgood sizespecials boardpatio doorsfamily suitevisiting longleatstayed for one nightroom was largefull english breakfastwest countrycomfortable bedbottled watermain roadpuddingtea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 488 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Had a booking with another hotel so this was second choice, first hotel nobody was around so changed to this one, though booking.com they were so helpful. This hotel is a gem, good food, comfortable rooms, memory foam mattress took sometime to get used to but ok night sleep, flat screen panel tv and free internet. A really fantastic hotel and will use again, great rates as well, 20 miles towards exeter and was paying twice as much for the same quality. recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed as a stopover en-route to Commando Challenge Exeter. Chose a real Inn over TravelLodge/PremierInn as we wanted a 'treat' rather than a functional stopover.
This place was perfect, large, modern & clean bedroom with very comfy memory foam mattress, lovely clean modern bathroom (no bath) but fantasic shower. The rooms are in a new-built block adjacent to the old Inn - They have been built and finished to a very good quality and it is clear that the owners are very keen to concentrate on maintaining high standards.
The bar & restaurant are very nice indeed with a country feel, excellent ale, a carvery or a la carte - absolutely no chance of going hungry or thirsty in this place!
Servcie was excellent in the evening but I would slightly criticise the morning staff, slightly rushed non-personal - Should have had more/experienced waiting staff.
For my wife and it was excellent and far more enjoyable than a functional stopover of a Travellodge etc.... and at the £50 b&b we paid for the room, very good value indeed.
Very definitely on our list of places to stay and a perfect stopover for a friday evening journey to the west country. Very close to the A303 main-road so no big detour required but do watch the A303 exit if west-bound - it's a very sudden sharp-left on the exit slip... certainly woke my wife up!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night as a base for a 2 day visit to Longleat. The hotel was easy to find as it is located 1 minute from the A303. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff who checked us in to the Dorset Suite, a very spacious clean family room with a kingsize bed and 2 singles and plenty of room for the cot that we had requested for our little girl. The bathroom was also very clean with twin basins, a bath and power shower. We decided to eat in the attached pub that night and were highly impressed with the food and service, and this was also the same for breakfast the following morning. We did have a slight problem on checking out when it was not sure whether the payment had been taken over the phone but this was resolved in a quick and professional way. All in all it was a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redandwhite76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at The Hunters Lodge on Saturday night and found our room clean, warm and comfortable. However we would not choose to stay there again. Our welcome was a little unfriendly with no knowledge of our request to check in early to change for the wedding we were to be attending, even though I had called a day before to ensure this request had been registered. The location was suitable for our needs however we were aware of the close proximity of the main road from our room. Our booking included breakfast, we opted for the Full English which was extremely greasy and unappealing. The Hunters Lodge lacked character and charm and we found the staff a little stand offish. We won't be staying again, it provided what we need but nothing more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review86London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Firstly, I tried to book accomodation on line however for some reason it would not work for me, so I contact the Inn and explained my situation. They agreed to book the accomodaiton for me over the telephone at the same price, which to me was excellent service.
On arrival booking in was quick and then headed off to the somerset suite, this was a lovely large room with everything that we needed. The view was lovely and our young son was impressed that he could see goats from the window. We stayed for food in the evening which was excellent value for money and great portion size.
Breakfast was also excellent value, however if I was to be slightly picky I would have like to have been served with a pot of tea instead of having to make one with a tea bag myself!.
The beds are memory foam so if you are not used to them they do seem quite hard, there was noise of the traffic however with the windows shut you could not hear it.
We stayed for two nights and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsfamily37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews