We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for one night on 01/01/14 having visited Bath and prior to visiting Longleat the next day. It was easy to find and well situated. As a family of four we had the Dorset Suite and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, it was lovely to find a family room with the beds not squashed in! Breakfast in the morning was lovely, plenty of cereal and yoghurt along with fresh toast and a cooked breakfast to order. Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank GemmaL0uise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 467 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lovely clean welcoming place to stay on our journey to Cornwall for new year. Clean rooms comfy beds. Only gripe is poor Breakfast if you dont eat meat. All they could offer was cereal toast or youghurt, or mushrooms beans tomato egg real shame there were no vegetarian sausages. Other than this every thing great very very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived at around 6pm after spending the day at Longleat Safari Park, we were cold, wet and very tired. The Hunters Lodge is a warm and inviting place, we checked in with no problems, got to our rooms (Room 3 & Dorset Lounge) which were clean and well presented and then (after warming back up with showers / baths) we went out for a meal which was excellent quality. It was our youngest's birthday and they had agreed to bring out his birthday cake after we finished our meal and despite our numerous requests the staff were warm and helpful throughout. Breakfast the next morning was also really nice and staff even helped us with the frozen lock on our car and let us know about severe weather heading in (as our next stop was Cardiff). We would definitely book here again if back near Wincanton - the kids haven't stopped talking about it!

Room Tip: Dorset Lounge has two single beds and one double bed and our eldest son had the double room next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a night in a four poster room and it was fantastic, room was lovely, clean & spacious the bed was amazing!

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was smashing would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in October and were bowled over from the moment we arrived. It's situated a couple of miles outside of town. It is an ideal getaway for those with a car.
The food in general is great and nothing was too much hassle for the waiting staff. The Sunday roast is legendary - book ahead or you'll be very disappointed!
Large, comfortable, quiet rooms with a veranda that looks onto a goat/llama farm - a lovely addition.
Lots of activities for children.
Couldn't rate it highly enough

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had a very good lunch here this week . Meal served, without a wait, despite the pub being very busy . Staff were friendly, efficient and professional .. Well worth a visit for either locals or visitors . Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Well what can I say yet again, what a great evening having Christmas dinner served with style and good quality food in a very pleasant atmosphere which lived up to the standards of previous visits to this public house and hotel.
The lodge hotel is the best I have ever stayed in and I would recommend this every time as we used the lodge as a base when my partner and I were looking at houses locally before moving into the area. The buffet breakfast is stonking all local and very tasty best yet and in volume great value for money. Evening menu just as good tasty and wholesome and you never will leave feeling hungry just bring your elasticated trousers its that good.
Christmas meal on this visit main meal could not fault even as they were very busy service and quality was not compromised. I had the Christmas pub it must have shrunk in the microwave ho well my fellow guests had the cheese cake which was huge and won the prize for the best pudding and followed closely by the profiteroles. Shame about the Christmas pudding bit small for a growing lad and one with a big appetite, could have eaten it twice with room to spare. Oh well every thing else was brilliant

Room Tip: Book early as the rooms in the lodge are booked up quickly and word of mouth has let this cat out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
279 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
642 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#2 of 2 in Bourton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range: $83 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing