We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Longleat Safari Park. It was a fantastic place to stay, comfortable room, great home cooked food and really helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again in the future. Highly reccomend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lornawayne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our UK holiday, checked in on a Sunday at 7:30pm with staff eager to assist and had a great meal with our friends to kick off,
The room was large and well presented with the English breakfast a highlight to start the next day.
Would have no hesitation in staying here when next in UK

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just come to the end of a 1 week stay here while touring Somerset. We find it difficult to find any faults, bedding was changed 3 times, you don't get that service in 4 star hotels. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Bar managers Phil and Scott gave us a warm welcome each evening and we must say a special thank you to Scott who went the extra mile to make us feel like special guests. We would recommend this hotel to everyone and it's very family friendly too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by very welcoming staff. Bedroom was of a very generous size as was the double bed -hurrah for a decent size and same for en-suite. Clean, quiet and comfortable - to an extent - and very well priced including breakfast. Hoŵever observations - it is a shame the vast majority of hotels only ever include one "chair" in a double bedroom! Also a full length mirror would be a useful addition. Only bath towels - no hand - in the en-suite - even one hand towel would have been helpful! Plus for "aged" eyes strong lighting in the en-suite too would be good - I always take my own magnifying mirror anyway! Sadly evening meal did not come up to par, will not dwell on that as staff/proprietor were profusely apologetic and at least my meal was not charged for and I was treated to a glass of wine - plus point in that respect. Cannot fault staff and proprietor, little things, IMO , need "tweaking" - hence the reason - in spite of a few anomalies, I would still recommend this hotel - good value in most respects.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgnetma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a 1 night stay on 24th Aug in the four poster suite. It did indeed have 4 posts - no drapes to be seen. Bed linen had not been changed & was dirty. The floor hadn't been hoovered in a while & there was chewing gum on the carpet still sticky. I don't think the furniture had ever been dusted or polished. To be fair the sheets were changed by the time we returned in the evening, but no hoovering/dusting had been done. Couldn't fault the bathroom- looked newly redecorated & was clean. The manager did hover in the morning whilst we were eating breakfast but left it to the bar manager to deal with our complaint. We were made to feel very uncomfortable and rushed at breakfast as the girls were clearing all the tables around us & setting up for lunch. Our friends who we were visiting had recommended the place & were disappointed with their local!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbain, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. Constructive criticism is always helpful to improve but don't really know what to say to this. The linen in the room was replaced (why would we not!), and the carpet had been hoover. My bar manager then went and changed the bed linen & hoovered again and you told him that he didn't. I inspected the room in the morning and must say i couldn't find any dust on any surface. I couldn't even find any behind the desks or under the bed where it can build up. I must admit there is chewing gum on the floor by the bed but it looks like it has been burned into the carpet with an iron. It is a very small defect partially hidden by the bed. When it comes to complaints all supervisors take charge of any issues so people deal with 1 person. I only step in if necessary. I'm sorry you felt rushed during breakfast. We have no reason to rush anybody as we don't close but we do have to setup for lunch, and it was 11am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a lovely here for the Bank Holiday weekend with 2 of my children age 11 and 9 we stayed in the family room which was large and very clean - en suite with a good size bathroom double sinks and powerful shower - we had a 32" TV and a very good tea/coffee tray which included quality biscuits and Aero hot choc - end of the corridor in the lodge with a view out to the goats and ponies - there is a large "fort" play area and a zip line which was very popular with my two children - masses of outside seating and large car park
Staff were very very helpful Mandy should get a mention for her smile and constant helpfulness be it the late or early shift !!
breakfast was buffet style as the inn was full (other times cooked to order) but plenty of choice scrambled egg rather good !
A helpful touch are the lunch boxes available to order the night before to collect at breakfast at £5 each they are much better than the price of sandwich / crisps etc at local attractions - plenty of choice and "fussy" eaters like my children catered for !!
we would go back again with our family and for the cost and location (30mins from what seemed like everywhere !!! - stourhead longleat montacute yeovil fleet air arm etc etc ) i think it would take some effort to better it - well done to all

Room Tip: Go for end of corridor rooms - quieter as no one running past
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50sammy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

we arrived at the hunters lodge inn at 6pm and was met with a warm relaxed friendly gentelman the room was fantastic plenty of space and very very comfy beds my 14 year old was a very happy chap we had a great meal the food was fantastic the room was great and clean we will be returning next year with the hole family

Room Tip: phone and speak to them very helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#1 of 1 in Wincanton
290 reviews
9 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Willows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing