We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked this on line because of the good reviews and it was in a good position for getting to Longleat. The Inn did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and helpful all with a smile on their faces with excellent service. The room was very good and the bed very comfortable. There was a good selection of vegetarian meals and for meat eaters the selection was very good and on a Sunday there is a carvery. We arrived on Sunday and the Inn was very busy with day visitors. There is an outside play area including a zip wire for kids as well as goats, shetland ponies and alpaca's to look at as well. It is just up the road from Wincanton and was only a 30 minute drive from Longleat. I would highly recommend the Inn if you are looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    125
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
126
178
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while in the area for a family wedding. The staff at Hunters Lodge were very friendly. The place itself is in a great setting, there is a play area for children and pigmy goats too. We had an evening meal on the first night, the carvery was fabulous and the food from the menu was also very good. Although we were a large group (26) the staff looked after us really well. The rooms were spacious and nicely
decorated. We would definately return to Hunters Lodge!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here overnight and was beautiful! The room was lovely spacious and clean! No faults what so ever! Bathroom was nice and modern and had a double shower! We went to the restaurant for dinner and the food was lovely no complaints, staff very friendly, breakfast next morning very nice too, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holliesnooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My engineers have ben working in the Wincanton area for about 10 months now & have stayed at the Hunters Lodge all this time, I have had no complaints at all from them. the food is consistently good, there is always a welcome & it's very convenient in every respect.Thank you Hunters Lodge for looking after my employees. Peter Newson.

Room Tip: It does get busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The menu was vast if you liked mexican,if not you didnt have much to choose from.
My meal came out on a wonky slab of slate and the chips came in a small wire basket (done pubs own plates anymore)
Both of our meals was cooked very well

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiltshireKarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just off the main east/west route and easy to get to (even sign-posted), this pub/B&B did everything we needed. We had a family room with big double plus 2 singles and there was lots of space so we didn't feel cramped at all. (The Dorset Suite) It was the week before schools break up for summer and was £90 which I thought very reasonable indeed. Far better than a travelodge! There's a good playground adjoining the rear garden so you can watch your kids with a drink in your hand. There are also animals over the fence so kids get to look at sheep, goats, tiny ponies and, round the corner, llamas. The staff were friendly but not over-familiar and seemed happy to accommodate questions, problems etc. Pub meals there are good although maybe the kids meals are a bit unimaginative (sausage/fishfingers and chips, like everywhere!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyJMc2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Inn is conveniently located for local attractions, such as Longleat and Stonehenge. There's plenty to keep the kids occupied to the rear of the building, with goats, llamas, ponies and a formidable adventure playground.
Whilst the menu is standard pub grub and nothing special, it is good enough to keep you going and convenient if you are staying here.
We had one of the four-poster suites so it was a good size and although there was no view to speak of it was light and airy. Only two gripes; the mattress was very uncomfortable as it was obviously past its prime, with protruding springs and a huge sag in the middle! The linen - though clean - was covered in coloured stain spots, and one of the staff assured me this was caused by cleaning chemicals and not by bodily fluids. From their reaction, they had obviously received enquiries about the linen marks before, and although we did believe them, it doesn't give a good impression to guests. You want to feel that your bed is spotlessly clean, and in this business it is best to replace the damaged linen and perhaps use a different company or process.
Service at the bar and in the restaurant was excellent: Phil was very friendly (and a bit forgetful!), and Mandy (with all due respect to the Inn) is wasted there, as she offered an incredibly high standard of customer care and service. If only all establishments were even half as attentive as she is.
Hunters Lodge is definitely worth your consideration if you are staying in this area.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the suites on the first floor; there is a suite on the ground floor, but it is ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LONDONUK413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbain, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your room. We are in the process of changing some of our mattresses as they have not fared well. As for our linen we supply our own ivory Egyptian cotton which we launder ourselves. Sometimes we use a 2 in 1 detergent / softener which has coloured bits in them. These can end up "cooked" into the linen at high temperature. We do normally bin these but some have obviously slipped through the net. Apologies for this and I have inspected all our linen personally to ensure it is all of the highest quality and standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
3.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
6.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Property: Hunters Lodge Inn
Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing