We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and value for money”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food and value for money”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me (18) and my boyfriend (26) stayed here for 2 nights (17th-19th November) as we were visiting longleat safari park which is a easy half hour drive away from the lodge inn. Ill be honest, when I booked it for the price we were paying we wasn't expecting much, but we was overly impressed with it and would 100% go back.

On arrival a friendly bloke explained about the food, the room, toilets, wifi etc. We stayed in room 10 and has a really comfortable double bed which I wanted to take home with me but unfortunatly it wouldn't fit in the car. The room has a small balcony which we didn't really use but perfect for smokers. The bathroom was big enough with a really nice spacious power shower. There was freeview on our telly and coffee and tea making facilities too. Everything was clean, really couldn't fault the room at all.

The food was amazing. Most dishes were around £10-£15 and well worth the money. Both nights we went to the bar and had a couple drinks with no hassle to order as they take orders until 9pm. Check the menu on their website out before going and you'll see the variety they had, was lovely food and the buffet breakfast was great too.

All the staff were really polite and friendly, really worth the money spent. Not too far from the motorway too so easy to find but there's no noise or nothing.

If I needed to pick a tiny hole, it would be we would of preferred a bit of music in the background in the bar as it was a little quite but that may not be everybody's cup of tea, maybe as we're a bit younger we prefer a bit more atmosphere.

Overall great place to say, would definatly book again or if in the area dinner would be a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    129
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
129
179
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here having read the previous excellent reviews and am in complete agreement. Room 11 was recommened and this is where we stayed, big, warm clean and quiet room with lovely views out onto the goats and animals to the rear of the property. The food in the restaurant in the evening was plentyful, of a good standard and price. Breakfast was very good with locally sourced items. Staff throughout were very good, polite and welcoming. Highly recommend and will definately stay if in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Room 11 is at the rear and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We wanted somewhere near the races to have a weekend away without breaking the bank - what a find . . . . . . . the staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the yound lady behind the bar on Friday evening, having read the other reviews I would presume she normally works the breakfast shift!! We stayed in Room 10, it was clean and well maintained, there was plenty of room and there were patio doors leading to an outside balcony overlooking the grounds and animals. The food served was great and the homemade Tiffin amazing!!! The pub has a real friendly atmoshphere and was just what we needed to take some time out from our normally hectic lives. Only a 5 minute taxi ride from Wincanton Races. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with patio doors to the balcony are good for smokers - I can't tell you them all but defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP80CRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

stayed here for the night at the last minute and the room was great. very clean and lovely and warm. staff are all very pleasant and made us most welcome. lovely grounds with goats and alpacas and big play area. cosy bar serving great food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunset1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night here at the end of October. It was a lovely hotel, we had room 11, which was very big, furnished really nicely, with a big flat screen tv and had a great shower room. The room was spotlessly clean too, and had patio doors which led to an outside veranda overlooking the countryside. Excellent meal in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast was yummy - buffet style so you can have as much as you fancy, and there was loads to choose from. My husband was in breakfast heaven! Staff were all friendly and helpful. Hotel was very handy for the famous Stourhead house and gardens. Excellent value for money too - I have paid twice the price for some really awful hotels. So all in all a very nice stay here and would highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cazziebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved this place. What a find. The staff were so friendly and helpful, that i'm really surprised about Tim T's review. The room was spotless and the huge shower was a great treat. The carvery was a joy and he breakfast was great. It's true the mobile phone signal was non existent but we found the WiFi signal was good enough to watch online programming without any halts and hesitations.

Room Tip: All good and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had booked a Thursday and Friday in the hotel but called and changed the days to Wednesday and Thursday. Arrived 8.30 pm on the Wednesday to be told there was no room available. I had traveled three hours and was planning on eating at the hotel. Manager tried a couple of places locally but nothing was available. Internet was really slow so I eventually had to drive away and find a hotel myself. Hotel looked very tired and for the parts I saw it was dirty and I would suggest under staffed from the other complaints of "where is my bill" and ""is any one serving"

Stayed at Best Western about 10 mile away near Frome which was brilliant and the staff were really helpfull. The difference was amazing. I had to pay extra but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbain, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I have to admit there was error in the booking - on our side or theirs, i'm not sure.
When the guests arrived we had no rooms left and were booked in for the next day.
Our Bar Manager spent nearly 20 mins trying to find them alternative accommodation
with no luck - and our internet can be a little slow sometimes as we are a country venue.
I find it difficult to believe you can rate an establishment and say that you should go elsewhere
when you have only walked 6 feet into the building. They did not eat with us, drink with us or stay with us. As for tired, we are an "olde worlde" pub with many original features but have been totally refurbished. All customers were served promptly whilst also trying to solve this situation. I appreciate that not having a room available is a horrible experience but feel this review does seem to be a bit vindictive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
3.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
598 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
251 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
210 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Property: Hunters Lodge Inn
Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing