We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lodge!!!”
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sardegna
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here just for one night but everything was fine. The room is big and comfy, the bathroom was huge and the shower was very powerful. The staff is very friendly and breakfast was very good. Wi-fi runs all over the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    134
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
131
183
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a wedding in nearby Bruton.
Rooms were large, of reasonable quality and clean. However, our window didn't open properly and we baked in there for two nights. Our friends room next door - their bathroom heater was stuck on full, also making for a hot stay.
These things obvioulsy happen, but the owners response, should have been more attentive, they should have sent somebody down to look at both. Instead, in our case, they asked the cleaner to try and open the window, she couldn't, and that was that!
Food was on a par with a Chef and Brewer etc
Location was good. But some traffic noise being so close to A303
Staff pleasant

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexthorpe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbain, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us.
With regards to the window, i personally tried to fix it (and failed).
It was a case of it being open or closed. Unfortunately we were not able to get it fixed till the Monday.
We take great pride in our food and use locally sourced ingredients where possible. Our restaurant is extremely popular and would hope that we are a little better than a little chef.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for one night and we had dinner at the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For dinner we had steaks and they were yummy comfort food. The room was clean, nice, with plenty of room and a VERY comfortable bed. Breakfast was a buffet with all the full English options and was also very yummy comfort food. If we ever find ourselves out that way again we will be staying at the Hunters Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a lovely (but exhausting) family holiday in Cornwall, we thought we would break our journey home to Suffolk with a visit to Longleat Safari park. After a long look on the internet trying to find suitable accommodation nearby for a family of 5 (two adults, children age 10, 7 and 3) we stumbled across the Hunters Inn. What a gem! The family room was more than we expected - clean, tidy, welcoming and although there was a double, two singles and very comfortable camp bed for our 3 yr old it was spacious! The play area for the children was and is amazing - the food was great .. but I would recommend the wonderful carvery. The breakfast was lovely, buffet style (non greasy) English breakfast, options of cereals, fruit and yogurts, juices, coffee - lots of choices!
Dave the bar manager was polite, hardworking and very helpful when we had to cut our two night stay short due to an illness in the family at home. The staff were friendly and very happy to help. Please, if you are looking for a place to stay with a family, do book up at the Hunters Inn we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a fantastic hidden treasure. Tastefully furnished, clean rooms, comfortable bed, spacious mini hotel. Staff were so attentive to every guests needs, full english breakfast comes included in the price. Food is served all day. We took advantage of the packed lunch and we were not disappointed. I would recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a part of my birthday present. I was expecting it to be more like a little b&b but instead was a small hotel, the staff were local and very friendly always happy to help! The room itself was lovely and very clean well furnished. Food was amazing, and reasonably priced, portions weren't done by halves. Location is perfect to go to all the local attractions such as longleat, cheddar gorge and wookey hole. Don't be put off by the A303 being close by, you can barely hear it! It's very useful being close by.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good old fashioned pub / restaurant, with guest rooms. They've spent an awful lot of money on this place, and it shows. Rooms and facilities are spotless. The immaculate gardens have a suberb kids play area.

Even smokers will be happy ! Patio doors in your room, lead to decked terrace, so us smokers can slip outside for a fag. :)

Bar and food are excellent, good value, staff and management polite and welcoming.

Free Wifi is a bonus. No moble phone service in the area, which depending on your point of view, is a distinct bounus, for me anyway. :)

Room Tip: Depending where you're coming from, your satnav lies, go up to the junction, and turn left, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSurvyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
257 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
614 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
966 reviews
6.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Property: Hunters Lodge Inn
Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing