We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SWINDON WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Hunters Lodge is well placed for visiting Longleat which was the reason for our stay. The Lodge has plenty of parking and a large area for younger children to play in.
The Bar and Restaurant were very pleasant and welcoming with a good choice of food being served until 9pm.
The room we stayed in (Meadowvale Suite) was very comfortale with a lovely big ensuite shower room. The only downside was the lack of attention to cleaning, there was a thick layer of dust behind the bed, on the back of the TV and also the rails on the heated towel rail were very dusty. Shame really as the room was otherwise very nice.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food and all the staff were very friendly. We would stay here again as it was good value for money but lets hope they heed the cleaning comments

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WILTS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    123
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
124
178
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is an excellent lodge just off the major highway between Stonehenge and the Glastonbury area. Very nice rooms with free internet and parking, and an excellent full English Breakfast. Even though it is convieniant to the freeway, the lodge has a very country feel, with goats and horses in the backyard. Highly recommend this lodge for families.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ronaldjlane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

The room had only been built this year, it was spacious and well thought out. Patio doors looked out onto paddock, goats kept us entertained! Pub staff were friendly, basic pub food but was very nice and value for money. Would go back again. Good base for visiting local area and towns.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1111travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel after a day at Longleat. Nice room, very spacious with an amazing shower. Went down to the bar shortly after arriving to be welcomed by friendly staff and an extremely inviting carvery. The food was, fantastic - that includes dinner, pudding and breakfast.
Would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtlington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

If you want swank and servility, find somewhere else. If, however, you appreciate efficiency from staff with charm, friendliness and an understanding of what they are meant to be doing (i.e. giving Hospitality and Service) then you'll enjoy a stay here. Hunters Lodge provides a warm welcome, good, clean reasonably-appointed rooms [it is an inn, not a 5-star hotel] spacious, a comfortable bed and plumbing that works. The food is plentiful, well-cooked and reasonably priced. The well-trained staff set an example that many costlier establishments could learn from in terms of warmth and politeness. The locals love it, they were being turned away for dinner one Friday evening as the tables were all booked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Met up with friends for a two night stay and had super time. The rooms we were given were new and just refurbished, very comfortable, bathroom very clean with a super shower. The bed was large and comfy and the room as a whole was excellent. The staff were very friendly and polite, we ate there both nights and had a good meal, although would like to see a specials board as well as the set menu. The breakfast was great well cooked and served by a lovely pleasant young lady!! We would definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

my partner and i stayed here a couple of years ago and had the best night sleep and gammon steak ever! so for my partners birthday we decided to return! and once again had a great stay! when we arrived we felt instantly welcome we checked in with no problems when we went to our room the dorset suite we was so surprised that we had been given a massive room with his and her sinks and great views of the goats! we couldn't have been happier we then went for dinner which we had been looking forward to and once again had the gammon and once again was amazing! the pub has a great atmosphere i could have sat there all night they also offer you to make a tab which you can pay for when checking out the next day. i loved this made me feel welcome and trusted and the pub has lots and lots of character! when u first sit on the beds you think they are really uncomfortable but once you have laid on them a while u cant help full asleep great if u have a bad back your walk up feeling refreshed. full english breakfast was very yummy and kept me full all day and check out was easy and stress free! everyone should stay here i love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasmin831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
3.4 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
6.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Property: Hunters Lodge Inn
Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing