We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, dog friendly guest house with great breakfast”
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White House
Ranked #3 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We telephoned to book three nights and were told we would only be paying for two as an out of season offer. This was the first example of the service we would receive at the White House in Williton. As we were travelling with our dog we requested and were allocated a courtyard room which had direct access to the outside, was clean and had an extremely comfortable king sized bed and a newly fitted bathroom with over bath shower.
The breakfast next morning was faultless - I do like Aga eggs which are like fat free fried. After breakfast a neat litle aluminium foil package arrived for our dog with two sausages in it. We thought that this was because my wife had requested poached eggs instead of a full english but the gesture was repeated each morning despite her changing to a full breakfast.
The owners of the WHite House are obviously very proud of their lovely old house and their business and with full justification. Recomended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

ROOMS clean and private great for dogs as you went out of your own door and fantastic breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed here and were struck by the cleanliness and pride they took in their business.
Because my wife was getting over a hip operation, we declined their offer of a room upstairs in the house, and were shown a room in the courtyard outside. The room had not been made up, but we were offered a cup of tea, asked to wait in the lovely lounge, and within 10 minutes, the room was cleaned and prepared. Nothing was too much trouble. Although they don't serve evening meals, we were recommended to a great Bangladeshi restaurant just up the road on the first evening, and their local pub on the second evening, both of which serve excellent food. The owners should be complimented on the great service and pride they have in looking after their guests.
Highly recommended, and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We booked a two night stay at the White House to attend a wedding at St Audries Park. We found the owner to be extremely welcoming and friendly. We chose to stay in one of the courtyard rooms rather than the main house. The room was a little on the small size, however this was made up by an extremely comfortable bed and good facilities. The room was also very quiet as it is round the back of the main house, which is situated on a main road. The rooms also have there own front door so you can come and go as you please.

The location of the White House is fantastic with easy access to Exmoor, Dunster, Minehead etc.

However, the best part of our stay was the breakfast. The home-cooked breakfast was delicious - in fact significantly better than the breakfast we had in a 5* hotel a few weeks earlier.

It was clear the owners had put a lot of thought into making their guests stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

I would have no hesitation in returning and highly recommend the White House to anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeroy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were booked onto a Fossil Hunt nearby and decided to stay at this B&B the night before.

We were really impressed. The building itself is very old but has been extensively renovated, maintaining all of its original character. Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, and we had a great night's sleep.

There are several pubs and an excellent Indian restaurant in the immediate area where you can have a meal.

The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious - all freshly cooked to order using local produce.

The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_D-Fect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

This is a great little B&B. We had a family room with 2 huge double beds.
The bathroom had a walk in shower and a jacuzzi bath. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good.
For a reasonably priced family B&B you could not have better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ciaracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Dieter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
745 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
134 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wick House
Wick House
#1 of 3 in Stogumber
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Address: 11 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range: $106 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing