We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue with extremely accommodating owners - perfect”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #2 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked 4 rooms as part of a 'fishing' weekend away. The rooms were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very well presented, comfortable and clean. This venue represents excellent value for money and could be recommended for any type of booking, whether social, pleasure or business.
This is a family run Bed & Breakfast and nothing is too much trouble - this was a return visit for our party of 6 and we would not look for anywhere else to stay in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do get some road noise but the general ambiance of the building more than compens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 131 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed in the main house, in a lovely, cosy, clean room. Plenty of pillows on the bed, thick carpets, lots of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and delicious (proper!) biscuits. Shelley was great - welcoming, helpful and kind. Easy to find and easy to park (sometimes finding parking can be a bit hit and miss with b+b's in villages but in this case it was very straightforward, great after a 5 hour drive :) ) Breakfast was delicious, served in a spotlessly clean dining room. There is also a lovely farm shop / deli literally just a minute's walk away. I could go on, but will just say that The White House has a really comfortable and home-away-from-home atmosphere and can honestly say that I left feeling really relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was lovely we had the four poster bed and it was incredibly comfortable, the whole feel of the b&b was warm, cosy and friendly.
Couldn't have asked for nicer staff, nothing was to much trouble, helped us with whatever we needed.
Would definitely stay again and will recommend to everyone.
Thank you Shelly for a great stay.
Kind regards Julie & Brad

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at The White House last Saturday night with 5 friends after organising our annual fishing trip and we were all so impressed with the way in which this Guest House presents itself. We were greeted at Reception by the owner (Shelly) who was one of the most hospitable people I have met, nothing was too much trouble and we were all treated with professionalism and warmth.
I have travelled extensively around the world over the past 30 years and I have to say that in terms of value for money, this Guest House has no equal. From the contemporary decor, the cosy bar to the full English breakfast in the morning, the price you pay belies the quality of the experience.
We are regular visitors to the Somerset and North Devon coast and we have all decided that if we can't stay in The White House in future, the trip will just have to be re-arranged for a time when we can be accommodated.
Well done Shelly & Charlie, you have a very special place, please keep up the great work.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 15 in the Annex, however I did get to look at some of the rooms in the Main House a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed here before some years ago, but visited again as we were in the area.
The standard is still good , and your needs are catered for in every way.
We stayed in the main house this time with a lovely spacious room, and were made to feel very welcome.
The bed was really comfortable, and there were the same little touches as we had last time. The new owners have carried on in the same way which has so much to recommend it.
My only comment was the coffee for breakfast seemed very weak, but that is a personal thing. I like my caffeine in the morning, and this didn't have any taste, and seemed to be a cheap brand.
Apart from this, I would still recommend the Whit House for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We decided to stay here while visiting friends, the bulding it 's self was full of character and the rooms were nice and clean with excellent decor. We had a great nights sleep and the breakfast was the best i've had at any hotel.Nice and close to the quantocks as we are fond walkers. most defently worth a visit, we will be back!

Room Tip: Great place to stay,four poster room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just arrived home after an amazing overnight stay , we arrived 3hours early as we had a wedding locally.The owner greeted us and said it was not a problem showed us our rooms the wonderfully smell of Christmas was throughout .Our room was luxurious spotless .we looked forward to our return that night our breakfast perfect absolutely everything you could want for breakfast we wished we were staying longer and if we go to the area again we would look no further than the white house truly recommended.

Wendy and Fred Allen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 11 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range: $98 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing