We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Clean and Friendly”

Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Food, Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have a caravan at a local site which can't be used durting the winter months and we had to come down from Essex to pack it up for the winter. Although we're regular vistors of the pub and restaurant during the non Winter months it's the first time that we've stayed here. B&B was £70.

Room was clean with four poster bed, the room was warm, shower/bath, towels, tea making facilities etc. The rooms are cottages outside, not noisey, no problem.

Food in this hotel is excellent (huge portions) breakfast was very good and staff are always friendly. We were even asked what time we wanted breakfast, before 9am was no problem. (other B&B's in the area don't start breakfast before 9am and only for 1 hour)

Overall, not bad value for money but you can get cheaper, if you're OK with a late breakfast that is.

Like most small villages the locals do stop talking when you first walk in but Hey! Live with it. Also, the Indian restaurant in the town isn't that good, the better Indian is in Watchet a few miles away. Although the Fish & Chips from the local takeaway are excellent

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaw0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2011

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the owner Tracey. She kindly allocated our rooms , which were bright , well presented and tastefully decorated. The ample bathroom was well stocked with quality toiletries , as was the room with a selection of tea , coffee , hot chocolate and refreshments. Evening meal , served in a traditional old english surroundings. Great choices and fantastic value for money. Breakfast included full english, cereal, toast, tea , coffee and toast. Served with the same fantastic service throughout. I would highly recommend this B&B and will be visiting again for certain. Thank you Tracey for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123321SandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel a few times and now that it is under new ownership things have greatly improved. Tracey the Landlady was very friendly and the food was fantastic. The rooms are always very clean and tidy and you do get a good nights sleep and a great breakfast. David Whitnall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidwhitnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed with partner in January 2011. Basic clean accommodation. Annex type rooms which are not inside pub/hotel. Went outside evening time to go to an Indian restarant in village and there was total blackness which we felt could be potentially dangerous. No outside lighting whatsoever.At breakfast, there was no warm welcome feeling, no music just total silence. We had to wait for approx 10 minutes just sitting there before the most miserable landlady came out to take our order complaining that she thought we were not coming and had cleared away (IT WAS 9.00AM) - oh I suppose I will have to re-lay table! We heard her complaining and moaning in the kitchen to her husband! I have never felt so uncomfortable and could't wait to leave. Take my advice, do not go! There is a fantastic hotel nearby where we stayed the previous evening called The Dragon House which is a couple of miles down the road. See my review!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were pleased to eat at the Mason's Arms having dined at two other establishments in the local area; both of which disappointed on the service front. The Mason's Arms was welcoming and friendly and the front of house staff were very efficient from the bar staff to the waiting staff. The menu is unpretentious but tasty with a range of food styles to suit most and is very good value too. We will return not least because we were made to feel very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Did not stay at the Hotel but went for a meal there having been recommended. Sadly very disappointed. The sea bass with sesame oil and pine nut dressing was an exercise in ruining a good fish by drowning it in something with such a strong taste that it smothered the delicate fish completely. After pouring about 150mls of oil off the plate the fish became more edible but smelt like a barbecue. I just wish they had kept it simple. The veggie option was a ratatouille which was covered with potatoes and cheese, and very stodgy.

The beer and wines were excellent but we were left disappointed that a lovely place with a good welcome and great ambience was let down by indifferent food and the absolute crime of ruining a perfect fish by bathing it in an inappropriate oily garnish.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petertheclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I spend so much time in hotels that I now only write reviews for those that are bad or very good. The Mason's Arms falls into the latter category. It's an attractive old buildine with good beer !!They have an annexe of nicely appointed rooms with all the facilities that you get in much more expensive places. I was very comfortable there. I was taken out for dinner elsewhere but wish I'd eaten at the Mason's Arm ! Breakfast was marvellous and the staff were pleasant and helpful. I'm not going to say how much I paid for B & B in case they decide to increase prices but suffice it to say that it was less than half of the cost I normally pay. I'm just looking for an excuse to head down that way again..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGSpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
3.0 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#18 of 37 in Minehead
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 54 in Taunton
149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road, Williton TA4 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel And Restaurant Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing