We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B, lovely hosts. Excellent!”
Review of Hartnells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartnells
Ranked #1 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely B & B, lovely hosts. Excellent!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Again, we have returned to Hartnells B & B. We cannot fault this charming House with its warm and welcoming hosts. On arrival we are greeted with smiles and offered freshly baked home made cake and tea. If the sun is shining we sit on the garden terrace enjoying the surroundings. The double bedrooms are lovely with king sized beds, tea making facilities, TV etc. We have stayed in both double rooms and can't choose between them. The whole house has a lovely cottage feel. The breakfast is great from full breakfast to a light eat. Even if we plan to eat lightly it is difficult to resist Sue's delicious rustic homemade bread and her homemade jams. The location is great for exploring the north Devon coast, the Quantocks and Exmoor. Sue and Tony always have tips for us on places to visit and places to eat. They go out of their way to make our stay comfortable, relaxed and enjoyable. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiayia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We were more than happy to welcome you again to Hartnells B&B which means you are now not just our guests but friends as well!
West Somerset has a lot to offer, often missed by people rushing through to Devon and Cornwall which in a way makes Somerset a relatively quiet area to explore. We are so glad you have discovered it and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
71
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Everything is perfect here. Because my English, I can not describe it properly, but there are comfort, hospitality, beauty...
First "B" is all you could expect as your own home and the second "B" just so amazing! (madehome jam is a must).
Our thanks to Sue and Tony for made our days there the most fantastic experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FlacaLeigh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I can see nothing wrong with your English, you said all the right things! We hope to see you again one day. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. This is our aim and it is good to know we were successful with your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Sue and Tony were excellent hosts. Fresh scones, homemade jam and clotted cream on arrival and a friendly chat over a shared cup of tea. A lovely room, comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast. I felt like a friend not a guest. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you Anne for glowing review. We are so pleased you felt a friend in our home and you certainly earned the cream tea after your walk from Nether Stowey. It is good to have your feedback so now we know you made it to the end of the Coleridge Way unscathed! Well done. I hope we meet again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our recent stay at HARTNELL'S was a delight and a joy. Sue and Tony our hosts made both of us feel special and looked after our needs. Breakfast was first class cooked by Sue using local produce as was the home made bread cake and hot cross buns. Sue booked us a table at a local restaurant were we eat at the two nights we were there. Our room was beautiful very clean and tidy as was the en-suite. Tony and Sue have a very good knowledge of the area and provided us with the best places to visit and eat. We both enjoyed there company immensely.
Thank you Sue and Tony for your hospitality and allowing us into your home, we would recommend Hartnell's to our friends and family. We would love to return for another stay in the future.
Nice location. The service was excellent. Sue and Tony looked after us. I felt like a Russian Princess.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Tony & Lyubov for your kind review. I am always willing to treat Russian Princesses to hot cross buns and Easter eggs! Sorry not the Fabergé ones! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

From the warm welcome (with a slice of delicious homemade cake) to the Banksman training guiding us out when we left, this really is a perfect B & B. Sue and Tony offer marvellous hospitality in a kind and friendly way. Delightful rooms, each with its own unique feature (one with a 400 year old door), warm and comfortable. Excellent breakfast which offers something for everyone ( even homemade Hot Cross Buns if you are lucky!). Sue and Tony also offered information on dining out, places to visit etc.

We thoroughly recommend this B & B in Willaton, the perfect place for exploring Somerset.

Room Tip: Book early if you can - this is a really popular B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found your home from home Jan. We hope to have you here at Hartnells again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

5 out of 5 stars. This B&B is the best we have ever stayed in. Wonderful breakfast with home-made bread and very beautiful rooms. Sue went above and beyond what we would expect of a B&B. The first night we stayed, Sue recommended a local restaurant for our evening meal which she kindly booked for us. The food was so good we went back every night, and each night Sue booked us a table. We had home-made biscuits in our room and a good selection of teas, and after Sue found out I drank berry tea, three berry fruit teas appeared in our room. It is the attention to detail like this that really made our stay amazing. I even had a home-made hot cross bun to take home. Sue also has a very good knowledge of the local area and gave us great advice on where to look for fossils. We now have four more fossils to add to our collection and would probably not have found them without Sue's advice. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for the great review Louise and Daniel. I am so pleased you managed to find some good fossils along our Jurassic coastline, for your collection.
Also that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to do what we can to make your stay the best!
We hope that you will not leave it too long before you come treasure hunting again! -unless our grandsons find them all at Easter!
Kind Regards Sue & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have just returned from another amazing few days at Hartnells B & B in Williton Somerset.Sue and Tony are the perfect hosts - from greeting us with tea and home made cake to a wide choice of tasty breakfasts. Our room was perfect as usual with everything as it should be. Always a joy to spend time in this corner of the world. We'll done Sue and Tony- you are the best

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervsymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you Penny & Merv for your fantastic review. For you to keep coming back and doing a review for us on you 4th visit, we must be getting it right! We really enjoy your visits. It is true what they say, arrive as strangers (the first visit) and leave as friends. Now it is friends arriving every time! So pleased we decided to do B&B, just to have met you! See you again soon we hope. Sue & Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
0.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 54 in Taunton
148 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
188 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartnells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartnells

Property: Hartnells
Address: 28 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful thatched cottage full of character. A real home from home with a passion for supplying homemade and local produce. Super-king beds, Family suite, Disabled friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartnells Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing