We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The White House(Williton)
$90
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
142
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamshome madetea and cakethe west somerset railwaytonyaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 149 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

5 out of 5 stars. This B&B is the best we have ever stayed in. Wonderful breakfast with home-made bread and very beautiful rooms. Sue went above and beyond what we would expect of a B&B. The first night we stayed, Sue recommended a local restaurant for our evening meal which she kindly booked for us. The food was so good we went back every night, and each night Sue booked us a table. We had home-made biscuits in our room and a good selection of teas, and after Sue found out I drank berry tea, three berry fruit teas appeared in our room. It is the attention to detail like this that really made our stay amazing. I even had a home-made hot cross bun to take home. Sue also has a very good knowledge of the local area and gave us great advice on where to look for fossils. We now have four more fossils to add to our collection and would probably not have found them without Sue's advice. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for the great review Louise and Daniel. I am so pleased you managed to find some good fossils along our Jurassic coastline, for your collection.
Also that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to do what we can to make your stay the best!
We hope that you will not leave it too long before you come treasure hunting again! -unless our grandsons find them all at Easter!
Kind Regards Sue & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have just returned from another amazing few days at Hartnells B & B in Williton Somerset.Sue and Tony are the perfect hosts - from greeting us with tea and home made cake to a wide choice of tasty breakfasts. Our room was perfect as usual with everything as it should be. Always a joy to spend time in this corner of the world. We'll done Sue and Tony- you are the best

Room Tip: Ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervsymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you Penny & Merv for your fantastic review. For you to keep coming back and doing a review for us on you 4th visit, we must be getting it right! We really enjoy your visits. It is true what they say, arrive as strangers (the first visit) and leave as friends. Now it is friends arriving every time! So pleased we decided to do B&B, just to have met you! See you again soon we hope. Sue & Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and I was very sad to leave. Sue and Tony are very gracious hosts and the breakfast was wonderful. They were very helpful in all ways even lending me a scarf to keep warm on a rainy day. The home itself is wonderful our room had an original 400 year old door. I highly recommend staying here if you are anywhere in the region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We do try to make sure that our guests have a comfortable time while staying with us. The cold snap thrust upon us caught you out, so I was only too happy to help to keep you warm with a scarf. We hope that we might have the pleasure of your company again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had just the one night, but were made to feel totally at home.Tony helped guide the car into a space, and Sue had made a cake and tea for us.
We were at a wedding down the road and they even offered to drive us down.
Super comfortable bed and plenty of fresh coffee in the morning.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We thank you for your review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Best wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding, and we could not have done better. This is a beautiful 17C thatched cottage with many original features but also with all modern amenities.We had the downstairs Tudor Suitee which was spacious with a huge (and very comfortable) bed, tea/coffee making facilities, with fresh milk and shortbread. We also had use of a lovely large sitting room - which we did not really need but it is a welcome feature that you don't find at every B&B. There is also free wi-fi - hoteliers please take note!
What made this B&B stand out was our very welcoming hosts Sue and Tony. They clearly enjoy meeting and interacting with their guests, and that does add that indefinable something which makes the difference between a comfortable stay and an enjoyable one. They want to make your stay as good as possible in every way, with extensive local knowledge and tips.
Sue had coffee/tea and cake ready for us within minutes of arrival, and the following day before we left for the wedding ceremony.
This B&B is absolutely on a par with the best ones we experienced in New Zealand and New England - and anyone who has toured in these places will know that this is a true compliment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your high praise. It is good to know we are doing things right.

We are pleased that you were so happy with your stay at Hartnells and that you felt we did our best for you. It is our aim and it looks as though we have achieved it for your stay.

We hope that you will come back to us again, to enjoy the parts of Somerset you did not have time for on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews