We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Bar None”
Review of Hartnells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartnells
Ranked #1 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Hartnells for an extra long weekend (4 nights). We both felt it was the best B&B we have stayed in anywhere. Nothing was too much trouble; we were made to feel very welcome, but could still come and go as we pleased. The weather was extremely warm, so all guests could have breakfast outside in the sunshine, already warm before 09:00.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs bedroom, accessed through an ancient (400 years old) door. Plenty of room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImDisgruntledKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that we matched to your high standards.
I really don't know why you called yourself I'mdisgruntledKent on Trip Advisor! I am glad we were appreciated so highly by you! You did not seem disgruntled to me.
We hope to see you again one day to discover the parts of Somerset that you missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

we stayed in this lovely B and B while walking on the Coleridge Way in Somerset. I can recommend it as a very comfortable place to stay. The hosts are warm and welcoming the beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious , not only that, the breakfast utterly delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ventdusud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your brief stay. A pity you did not know about our Coleridge Way package with transfers to each stage of your walk. It would have saved you packing up each day and enabled you stay longer at Hartnells! We hope to see you again one day, maybe when you walk the MacMillan way West which actually passes our door!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were on a cycling holiday and stayed at several B&B places. Hartnells was one of the better ones. Sue and Tony made us very welcome and served an excellent breakfast. Bed comfortable, excellent facilities. This B&B is on the main road but the double glazing does a good job of blocking traffic noise. Once the 'rush hour' had finished, there was minimal noise. We found a good gastro-pub walking distance away for dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanillafudge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having spent 30+ years staying in 4/5 star hotels worldwide on business l can say that an excellent well run family b&b usually rivals the best of them. Hartnells is one such place. Tony and Sue's personal touch added greatly to the positive experience. Thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ummzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent two nights at Hartnells to attend a music course in nearby Crowcombe. I was rather late in booking the course and was disappointed to be told there was no on-site accommodation left and I would have to stay in a B&B. But I'm now delighted it was full as I would never have discovered Hartnells. Sue and Tony are such lovely people - a relaxing welcome with coffee and cake on arrival; the double room was spacious, clean and oh-so comfortable. My very own well-equipped bathroom with a very roomy shower. Breakfasts to die for: something for everyone ranging from fruit and yogurt, to cereal or porridge, to the full English with eggs however you like them, and home-made bread and jam. I wish I'd had more time to enjoy what appeared to be a well-tended, colourful garden. I certainly look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We were lucky to have you here too. Thank you for your kind words and we really look forward to the next course they run for you at Halsway Manor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a find! We were so pleased with our stay. Tony and Sue were so accommodating throughout our stay (and before we arrived).
We stayed in the double and single room upstairs with our two young children - rooms consisted of a large double room, a single room and a large private bathroom. This is ideal accommodation for families as the rooms are off a private staircase and out of the way. Sue even found a stairgate for us to keep the little ones in. When were arrived there was even a large bag of toys put out for the children - such a nice touch. There is a really nice recreation ground accessible from the rear garden with a great play area for children. We used the outside seating area in Sue and Tony's garden with table and umbrella on a couple of occasions - which was nice as we could sit at a table and have our picnic.
Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was superb - lovely home made jams etc. I really cannot fault it - our holiday was completely stress free and we stayed for 5 nights.
Thank you Hartnells!

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs "suite" of rooms - the privacy is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TizzieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are so glad you obviously enjoyed your holiday with us. If we were grading guests you too would have 4 stars! It was like having friends to stay. Thank you for coming and we really do hope to have the pleasure of your company again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was staying in Williton with a couple of mates for a friends wedding. Sue and Tony couldn't have been more welcoming. The B&B was clean, warm and comfortable and we all enjoyed our stay immensely. The breakfast was excellent.

From ordering cabs when we needed them to providing the most obscure of tea order's Sue and Tony went out of their way to make all of trip successful.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always aim to please our customers and Lapsang Souchong tea is not such a strange request. It is always available at Hartnells so do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartnells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartnells

Address: 28 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful thatched cottage full of character. A real home from home with a passion for supplying homemade and local produce. Super-king beds, Family suite, Disabled friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartnells Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing