We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Williton”
Review of Hartnells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartnells
Ranked #1 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend in Williton”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I planned a weekend away for my boyfriend and our dog to celebrate his birthday. It couldn't have been better. The food was amazing and the dog friendly room was perfect for Hamish (our dog!). On the first morning we came out to a birthday banaza. It was so thoughtful, the breakfast room was dripping in Birthday decorations. Sue and Tony make every effort to make sure your stay is perfect for you. They make it look effortless yet are constantly considerate of their guests. Its a great location too. We're in our late 20s and love walking and getting away from the City and our jobs. Its a lovely retreat there blessed with many walks and a handy steam train in the village that can take you where you want to go. The local pub has lovely evening food too. We strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and pleased that my extra efforts seem to have made your stay a more memorable one, with the birthday treats! We hope to see you again one day; don't wait for another birthday! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
71
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at Hartnells for just the one night as my son was competing in a national mountain bike competition nearby. Sue & Tony were very helpful both prior to our visit via email & phone calls ensuring our requirements were catered for on dietry side & the provision of secure storage for my son's bike & were helpful & lovely hosts. The accomodation was full of character & comfortable with a good sized ensuite bathroom with a great shower. We were given a generous breakfast early to fit in with our start on the Sunday morning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had a tremendous stay at Hartnells thanks to Sue and Tony's tremendous hospitality and the very comfortable cottage. Highly recommended, don't go anywhere else if your in the Williton / Watchet area.

Room Tip: Tremendous bed and bathrooms, terrific breakfast and some very good pub food very close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422StephenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so glad that you thought your stay at Hartnells was a good one. We enjoyed having you to stay and especially liked the fact that you were so interested in this Somerset area while researching your family tree. We too have found many links to our family when we moved here. A common interest to be researched still further. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sue and Tony are running, what we now consider to be, one of the bed B&B's that we have stayed in. It is the small things that differentiate an outstanding B&B from a good one. The tea and cake on arrival, chocolates in the room, your bed turned down in the evening. These little touches are things that make a huge difference. In addition Sue and Tony are a very friendly and hospitable couple. Sue advised us on places to walk and places to eat and took time to engage with us. They are very pet friendly, we have a guide dog who was also welcomed. We stayed in the Tudor suite which was a lovely room with a seperate bathroom and perfect for the dog. The breakfast was all locally sourced produce with home made bread and preserves. Try Sue's new 'Granola Surprise' it's to die for. We will definitely be back when we visit the area again and I would have no reservations in recommending this charming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We really enjoyed having you here with us and feel we have made new friends.
Walter was so good in his own space in your suite and I think he enjoyed his holiday too!
We hope that you will return to Hartnells one day as there is still so much of this lovely area of Somerset for you to explore, whatever the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I wish every accommodation would be like this one. Sue and Tony are the most perfect host I ever came across. They made me feel very welcome, they are very kind people, looking very well after you. They always made sure that I was comfortable. At each moment they went t the extra mile. When I arrived, I have been offered tea/coffee and homemade ginger cake, I have unpack in my room (en-suite) was, clean, comfy, my bed was big and the bathroom just made me want to take a shower every hour of the day. I will definitely go back to see Sue and Tony and stay at the Hartnells B&B. It was the perfect stay. Thanks to them

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back for more ginger cake next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Marvelous welcome and hospitality for The Little Angel Theatre's traveling company. We all loved our rooms and excellent food. Sue and Tony were perfect hosts and every amenity was provided. We will definitely return and would heartily recommend Hartnells for a holiday or overnight stop for weary travelers.

Chand M.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marriedmembers, Owner at Hartnells, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
So good to have such friendly people staying. Of course there is always more cake at Hartnells! Not to mention the home-made breads! We hope to be able to host the Little Angel Theatre again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent only one night at Hartnells unfortunately, as we were attending a wedding at St Audries Park,.Choc cake & tea on arrival, delicious!! ( I even took the recipe home with me) Lovely room, very comfortable lounge area we were able to use, all home made produce served, most enjoyable breakfast with lots of choice. Sue & Tony were to say the least very good hosts, even organising our evening meal at The Mason's Arm within a hour or so of our arrival. This added to making our family wedding even more special. Would have no hesitation in recomending Hartnells to any one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartnells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartnells

Property: Hartnells
Address: 28 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful thatched cottage full of character. A real home from home with a passion for supplying homemade and local produce. Super-king beds, Family suite, Disabled friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartnells Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing