We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, friendly & homely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartnells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartnells
Ranked #1 of 7 Williton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly & homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

From the first email, I felt that we would be welcome. As a single parent of 4 children it is hard to find accommodation suitable as most family rooms are for a family of 4, well not at Hartnells, after explaining our circumstances we were accommodated no problem.

Our two night stay was an extremely pleasant one, the rooms were lovely in a beautiful house in a beautiful area. The breakfast was extremely tasty, a quote from one of my sons "this is the best scrambled egg ever", and even though everyone of us wanted something different it wasn't a problem. And all fresh homemade goods, yummy apple muffins.

Thank you Sue & Tony for looking after us and making us feel so welcome, we will definitely be back (if you'll have us).

If you are reading this review to make up your mind if you should stay then you definitely should :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali Commins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
71
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here when we were attending a wedding at St Audries Park (only 2.5 miles away) and this is one of the closest alternative accommodations.
The B&B is on the main street through Williton (photo shown is of back of residence) however once you're through the door you could be in the middle of the country! Our room was at the front of the property (overlooking the road) but the quality glazing ensured a very quiet stay.
The decor is in keeping with the property's age without being chintzy. Quality bed linen and excellent mattress helped us enjoy a much needed good night's sleep.
Our room had a private bathroom (with brilliant shower) just across a private hallway from the bedroom - this was completely enclosed, ensuring our privacy.
On arrival we were greeted by fresh tea/coffee and homemade chocolate cake - wow!
Breakfast in the morning was great and we got to choose the night before, ensuring a perfect match for each individual.
I believe there are 5 rooms in total and another couple we knew at the wedding were in one of them - they also shared our very high opinions of this B&B and will also be returning at some point in the future.
We hope very much to be back to explore the local area further, but in the meantime please take our recommendation and book your visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Friendly B&B in a great location for exploring Somerset. A home from home. Myself and 2 friends stayed there for one nt on a getaway from London. Really enjoyed our stay and breakfast was lovely. Although we drove it does have bus routes that will enable you to get around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riadaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Brilliant place, situated with good travel options locally, very high quality service and Sue and Tony whom run the B&B are an absolute pleasure to speak to and will aid you however they can. The rooms have good space and are very comfortable with a good amount of facilities. Would higly recommend for anyone visiting near Minehead and very much so for the event I went for the Watchet Festival if you do not wish to camp.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose Hartnells B&B as it was ideally located for a friends wedding in West Quantoxhead. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Sue with a cup of tea and delicious homemade cake. This then set the tone for the rest of our stay! The room was spacious, well appointed and pristine, whilst the facilities available to guests at Hartnells (lounge etc) were very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was modern, clean, and it was a nice touch that shower gel etc was available.
Sue and Tony made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived - we felt less like guests, more like friends! Sue advised us on various places to see/visit during our brief stay, and booked us a table at the masons arms for dinner - an excellent pub only 5 minutes walk from Hartnells. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and were sad to be leaving after only 2 nights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneB2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ideally located for exploring the Quantock Hills, Exmoor and the West Somerset coast. Hartnells is full of character both inside and out as befits this historic cottage. Our downstairs ensuite bedroom was spotless and spacious with a nice comfortable bed and soft towels. We were welcomed with tea and cake in the garden where Sue told us about their cottage and the village. A wonderful choice for breakfast.
Sue and Tony have really thought about their guest's needs.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.and would definately recommend Hartnells to anyone who wants to stay in that part of Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liz - Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

A special treat in an excellent bed and breakfast with Somerset a pleasant surprise for us. The Watchet firework display in its harbour setting could rival many that are much more famous, whilst the walks on the cliffs and moors are as good as those in t' North, and busy Weston is in easy reach for a day trip. Evenings in country pubs and walking in the grounds of Dunster castle will be remembered for a long time. Sue made our stay at Hartnell's really hospitable and comfortable and great to find a B&B accepting the dogs too.
Highly recommend this B&B as a great base to see a very diverse and beautiful part of England.
Lovely breakfasts too.

Room Tip: Downstairs room has separate entry and place for canines to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumblesishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
White House
White House
#4 of 7 in Williton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#1 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartnells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartnells

Property: Hartnells
Address: 28 Long Street, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful thatched cottage full of character. A real home from home with a passion for supplying homemade and local produce. Super-king beds, Family suite, Disabled friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartnells Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing