We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe haven in a storm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A safe haven in a storm”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Not only was the welcome excellent, met with tea and cake and a warm welcome, very comfortable accommadation but when a small accident occurred our hosts did everything in their power to ensure it did not affect out stay, which it did not. The breakfasts were so great and really set you up for the day. This is really a home from home, and we will be back as there is no other place to beat the atmosphere, the conversation, the friendliness and the comfort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, and have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul7018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi there P & J, thank you for your kind review as it is always pleasing to know when you are getting things right and that Guests appreciate what you do.

We both hope that J is doing well?

Your lovely homemade shortbread was delicious - you just can't beat homemade Christmas gifts.

We look forward to seeing you both again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontardawe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I only stayed for one night whilst on a course nearby, but would definitely consider staying again when we are in the area with our 2 dogs. Lovely cosy room, good breakfast and great hosts Paul and Jane.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
What a lovely surprise to receive this review and were happy to read that your stay was a welcoming one.

We undertook a most interesting workshop together and were then able to relax in the evening over a meal.

We would certainly be happy to have your family come and join us whenever you wish to get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Arden Cottage for about a week, seeing it as an ideal place to venture out on day trips to the coast, Exmoor, and the Quantocks. We were right! Paul and Jane were splendid hosts, making us feel so welcome: providing a excellent breakfast to start each day's adventure; great conversation whenever we were in the mood for it; plus a beautifully appointed room in a historic home filled with charm and character.

As for it's suitability for a day trip headquarters, it couldn't be better. The West Somerset steam train has a station only a short walk down the street, and while it provides a great experience in itself, it is also a very convenient way to explore west Somerset's hills and the coast all the way to Minehead. Buy an unlimited travel pass for a great value. We found our walks and drives in the Quantocks were a highlight, and all the small coastal towns, Dunster Castle, and Exmoor also provided great memories. It's a long trip from our home in western Canada, but we hope to return sometime to enjoy more great Somerset hospitality at Arden Cottage. Maybe next time we will bring our dog too as it was clear she would have been pampered too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
What a lovely review to receive so 'out of the blue' after your stay in August 2013.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Anniversary trip around England before returning to Canada.

Like you, we found your company very easy going and are pleased to read that your stay with us was memorable for all the right reasons.

We very much hope to see you again and of course your dog would be most welcome as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We needed to break our journey to Cornwall because of the Mother in Law. Two dogs required dog friendly accommodation and a Google search turned up Arden Cottage.

What a find! Super hosts, comfortable and interesting house, all in all a great place to stay. Dinner was locally found at the Masons Arms which was also good value and very tasty.

We were so impressed that we booked immediately for the return journey and we will probably never do the whole run to Cornwall in one again.

Oh, and for the idiot who complained about the parking. Our 110 Defender (with the turning circle of a supertanker), slotted in nicely thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Arden Cottage.

We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that our suggestion for a meal at the Mason's Arms was to your liking. It's always helpful to know when we get things right.

We look forward to seeing you all again tonight on your return trip from Cornwall. We'll have the kettle on and the cake will be ready and waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed at Arden Cottage on many occasions and I can honestly say that standards are still as good as the first magical occasion we experienced Paul and Janes hospitality. The cottage is immaculate the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast is extensive and delicious. The hosts are very welcoming and it is more like staying with friends than merely another B & B. I cannot recommend enough that you give it a try if you want to stay anywhere in the West Country particularly Somerset or Devon as it is ideally placed geographically to explore from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGVMechanic, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for another review. At least we know we're doing it right when Guests chose to come and stay again.

It was great to catch up on your news of family and to hear how your plans are going for your coming trip. We now feel like we are having friends come and stay with us. Easy conversation, relaxed atmosphere and fun.

We wish you both a happy trip to NZ shortly and do keep in touch. Have a great Christmas with the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oedelem, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This year my mom and I wanted a holiday in the UK and we wanted to take our dog Lana. After searching the internet we came across Jane and Paul's website and we booked a room immediately.
When we arrived, we were welcomed by Paul who offered us a cup of tea and some cake and Lana could run around in the garden or stay with us. It was just like being at home for us and for Lana as well!
Paul and Jane told us where we could eat and where dog's are allowed. Everyday they gave us some tips what we could do with Lana and which places we definitely had to see!
We stayed for a whole week and had the time of our life! It was a wonderful vacation and every evening it was fun to come "home" to Arden cottage.
Even Lana felt a little sad when it was time to go home!
We are definitely going back!

Thank you Jane and Paul for a lovely stay,
from Annick, Jill and Lana!

Room Tip: the family room is perfect if you're staying for a whole week. You have a lot of space to put al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi to you all and thank you for your lovely review.

We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Arden Cottage.

We must admit to thoroughly enjoying your company and our chats each evening about the places you had fun visiting. It was like having friends to stay. So thank you for your good company.

Lana was a real lady too, so quiet, gentle and easy to have around.

We look forward to meeting you all again when you come back to England for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose this B & B as stated dog friendly and knew it was the right choice the minute we were greeted... with tea and cake. Our dog has lost a back leg and found some of the floors difficult to grip, so without even asking, Jane rolled out extra carpets for him. They even booked us into a local 'Dog friendly' pub for our first evening meal.
The room was perfect and exceedingly comfortable, breakfast offered a large selection of high quality, locally sourced, produce. Jane and Paul are so hospitable, you couldn't wish for better hosts. I am only sorry that we didn't arrange to spend the whole of our four nights with them in Williton, as there are many places of interest within easy driving distance. I know where we are staying if in the area again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
It's good to hear from you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here are Arden Cottage and found everything to your liking.

Bracken was a great character and we were only too pleased to be able to make his stay easier. He is truly a whizz on three legs!

We are happy to read that you found Williton, and the surrounding area, of interest and enjoyed all the attractions you visited.

We hope you'll come back to see us and to see more of our wonderful countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
7.0 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 Long Street | Somerset, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 'home from home' and dog friendly, 4-Star Bed and Breakfast in West Somerset. Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast offers comfortable and relaxing accommodation for those wishing to explore the delights of Somerset.The picture postcard, wisteria and rose fronted detached, thatched cottage retains many original period features such as inglenook fireplace, solid oak/slate floors and exposed beams.Jane and Paul welcome you on arrival with tea and home-made cake, helping you relax and unwind after your journey. Williton embraces the fairest of the West Countries magnificent inland and coastal scenery, picturesque unspoiled villages make it ideally situated for the tourist, walker, angler, golfer or artist. Williton is 1.5 miles from the sea and about 2.5 miles from the Quantock Hills, an area designated as one of outstanding natural beauty.Williton is well served by rail and bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arden Cottage Bed And Breakfast Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing