We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Williton B&B and Inns
Exmoor
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We live locally but always recommend Arden Cottages to our visitors. Over the last five years many friends and relatives have stayed here at our recommendation and none have been dissapointed. All receive a very warm welcome from Jane and Paul. Within a very short distance of the shops and pubs in Williton

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digi-1-Stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for writing this review for us and for recommending Arden Cottage to your friends and relatives who come to visit you.

We are always pleased to hear that locals in the village are happy to recommend us and that no one has been disappointed. Like you say Williton is ideally situated for the local shops and pubs where good produce can be purchased to take home as a reminder of their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
66
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was my first visit to Williton and Watchet and what a fantastic welcome from Paul and Jane to start off my short weekend stay. Arrived slightly later than the agreed time but was still greeted with a very warm welcome, which included a much needed cup of tea and a lovely slice of home-made cake. The cottage is absolutely lovely with secure off road parking. The breakfast choice was amazing and the atmosphere very relaxed and welcoming. If I have the oppotunity to visit this area again I will definitely be hoping Paul and Jane have a vacancy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on your stay at Arden Cottage.

You were lucky to have chosen a glorious weekend to come and meet a friend and go walking in the Quantock Hills.

We look forward to you joining us again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our first stay at Arden Cottage. I doubt it will be our last.
It has been said before, we re-iterate, that Paul and Jane were wonderful hosts. An extremely warm welcome greeted us with tea and cakes, and remained this way throughout our stay.
A wonderfully comfortable room with everything you could ask for. A proper kettle and decent size cups. A huge and comfortable bed, a lovely en-suite with a fabulous shower. All set in a stunning thatched cottage. The garden was ample in size for our ample dog Alfie (Border Collie). (Fatter now for the breakfast titbits)!!!! He didn't want to come home, but neither did we. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast too. Great accommodation to explore this beautiful part of England. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area.
Thank you Paul and Jane for your lovely hospitality and company.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul6306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It was a real pleasure looking after you all (Alfie behaved himself impeccably). Guests like you, make what we do worthwhile and enjoyable.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

but found it was not the same for us: inappropriate chaser phone calls re our expected time of arrival - we were travelling a long way with several appts en route but still managed to turn up at 6.06 having been requested to arrive after 6.00. parking was very tight and only space for one car once a trailer was moved. no welcome cake etc, even tho i'd mentioned it was my other half's birthday and that had been another reason i chose this B & B. in absence of the welcome drink/cake i made a drink in the room but it smelt and tasted rancid so i checked the milk cartons' 'best before' date and all were 16.3.13 ie over 2 months pre our visit. no tv in room. no functional wifi nor table to work at in room - one response was "what ever" yet i had checked ahead that there would be wifi, as i had deadline work to do which at it was, was not possible. in morning at breakfast table there was intermittent wifi but so much being talked at it was very hard to get caught up with critical emails on the phone. no problem with dogs, but not round the breakfast table constantly. weakest coffee ever tasted. nicely renovated house. great smoothly and porridge. £5 off the bill didnt cover it! experience not 4*, travelled world wide for years never written a revue before, but it needed to be recorded

Room Tip: didnt see/not shown any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Firstly we are obviously disappointed to read that you felt let down by your visit to Arden Cottage. As this is the first review in 5 years like this, we have taken on board your comments and will do our best to prevent another Guest feeling the same way.

We are looking into the issue with our WiFi to see if it can be improved and are considering offering fresh milk on arrival, rather than using milk jiggers.

However we do feel that a couple of the points you raised are a little unfair and out of context, but rather than go into each point individually, we shall accept that on this occasion we did not give you the impression you were expecting,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was my first stay at Arden cottage and myself and my family took over the house! We were greeted at the gate and received the warmest of welcomes upon arrival. While the dogs got to know each other we enjoyed homemade brownies and tea sat by the fire. The house itself is full of history and character with very comfortable beds! We enjoyed a lovely meal at the local pub that greeted us all (including my dog) with food and many drinks. Breakfast was superb and extensive with each being cooked to our individual orders, including homemade granola which I had before my full English! Overall I couldn't fault my stay and hope it to be the first of many!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It was lovely to meet you and your family (Alfie the dog included). Catching up in front of the wood-burning fire over tea and cake was fun and we hope that the wedding plans for August go well. We look forward to taking care of Alfie whilst you enjoy the wedding. You can tell us all about it when you pick him up.

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

...beautiful house that tells fascinating story with the Quantock hills and Exmoor National Park just around the corner. Paul and Jane gave us a warm and caring welcome. Despite our short stay we luckily found some time to get to know our lovely hosts. Accomodation was lacking nothing and the bad was incredibly comfortable^^ The delishious breakfast was rich in variety and healthy as well(bless you Jane for that homemade Granola :)) Wish we could have stayied more than just a night!

Room Tip: rooms are all good
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxannie, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with you about your travels. It's lovely to have people stay who truly appreciate the history of the house. We wish you all the best with your studies and do come and see us again when you have more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a one night stay at this B&B. Warm and friendly greeting the minute we arrived, the couple who run the business could not do enough for me and my family. Beautiful place, in a beautiful location, with comfort being top notch. Breakfast was individually ordered and perfectly cooked.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGVMechanic, Owner at Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It's always great to have a family come and stay when attending a wedding and yours was no different. Easy going and interesting to talk to. We look forward to seeing you again especially if you wish to enjoy the Steam Railway during one of its Special Days. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williton
5.8 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.2 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 54 in Taunton
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White House
White House
#3 of 6 in Williton
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 Long Street | Somerset, Williton TA4 4QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Williton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Williton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 'home from home' and dog friendly, 4-Star Bed and Breakfast in West Somerset. Arden Cottage Bed and Breakfast offers comfortable and relaxing accommodation for those wishing to explore the delights of Somerset.The picture postcard, wisteria and rose fronted detached, thatched cottage retains many original period features such as inglenook fireplace, solid oak/slate floors and exposed beams.Jane and Paul welcome you on arrival with tea and home-made cake, helping you relax and unwind after your journey. Williton embraces the fairest of the West Countries magnificent inland and coastal scenery, picturesque unspoiled villages make it ideally situated for the tourist, walker, angler, golfer or artist. Williton is 1.5 miles from the sea and about 2.5 miles from the Quantock Hills, an area designated as one of outstanding natural beauty.Williton is well served by rail and bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arden Cottage Bed And Breakfast Williton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing