We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“To be able to teach your grandchildren how to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Cosy evenings by the log stove , on small complex with shared indoor heated pool open all year.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy evenings by the log stove , on small complex with shared indoor heated pool open all year.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Cosy evenings by the log stove , on small complex with shared indoor heated pool open all year.
Ensuite bathroom
family bathroom
tennis court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shoozee
Felbrigg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“To be able to teach your grandchildren how to swim.......Priceless..”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The owners of these lovely cottages work long and hard to provide their visitors with a home from home. I rang ahead as we were going to be arriving a day late and they were very understanding. Our whole holiday was based around using the swimming pool to the absolute max as both of the boys didn't want to go anywhere they just wanted "to go swimming grandma," which was fine. To be fair I was a little worried about the electricity charge, but at the end of the week it came to about £47.00, which in all honesty with the pool and the heat in the house etc was I thought reasonable. Be aware though, you do have to pay for the washing machine and tumble dryer, and take your own towels as again there is a charge, for using theirs, But all in all, it is a really lovelly place to stay, no hassle very quiet and you are left completely to your own devices. We will definitely go again.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2016
Dear Sarah, It is lovely to read that you had a good holiday at Triscombe & we look forward to welcoming you again soon. For clarity the use of the pool is included in the cost of the holiday, with no extra charge. There is a washing machine in Rose but the one in the tourist information room is foc but there is a small charge for the tumble dryer. We would like to take the opportunity to wish you & your family a lovely Christmas. Ruth & the team at Triscombe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette...
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very average if not for the pool”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We knew that the stairs would be very steep, but were not told the floors were very uneven. Ground floor bedroom especially bad, very easy to fall out of bed. Not suitable for quests with balance issues. No internet access or phone coverage. Gardens although good are very steep. Pool very good children loved it.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: the uneven floors and steep staircase
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2106hanna...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation, facilities, views and wonderfully welcoming owners; highly recommended!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Rose Cottage for three nights to have a relaxing break. Originally booked through holiday lettings, HL had got our arrival dates mixed up but Ruth and Bob were most welcoming and accommodating even though the error did not lie with them in the slightest.

Rose Cottage is beautifully furnished and the best equipped holiday rental I've ever stayed in. On the grounds of a working farm, the rolling hills and surroundings are idyllic and tranquil with lots to explore should you wish to.

The cottages that are available to rent are situated in such a way that there in a sense of community but have a sense of great privacy at the same time with secluded garden areas for each property. You can even breakfast whilst watching baby bunnies frolicking outside the kitchen window!!

The facilities on site include a lovely indoor heated swimming pool which was immaculate, a games room with pool table and tennis table, an information centre with all the local attractions you can think of, tennis courts, acres of land to explore and an outdoor brick bbq in a beautiful garden setting.

I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and will definitely be a returning visitor; thank you for having us!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syjaa
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2019
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Triscombe and exploring Exmoor. You were great guests and are welcome to stay with us again in the future if you wish to revisit the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing