We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay”

Sundial Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundial Guest House
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful hosts who were very kind letting us check in slightly later and had some delicious cake and tea waiting - lovely after our drive. The room was spotless and very confortable, lovely feather duvet - gorgeous! Next morning the breakfast was yummy, and set us up for our day looking at ponies. There was a little car park but we could even get our long 4x4 in no problem. In all it was perfect and we will be back next time we visit Exmoor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O_Tuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

While visiting Exmoor as a U.S. tourist I was taken to this location by friends from Surrey England that love this place. I found Sundial House B&B to be an excellent central location to tour Exmoor that has a wonderful host and hostess, great food, very clean rooms, superior service and it is an outstanding value. Seriously...what more could one say?

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderThirst2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just got back from annual walking trip to Exmoor and again stayed at Sundial. Why would we stay anywhere else on Exmoor? SPOTLESSLY CLEAN/GREAT BREAKFAST/STUNNING EVENING MEAL/GREAT HOSTS. Steve and Margaret have got it right. Took us down to Minehead to start a walk and the helped out a Dutch tourist who had run out of petrol. No surprise they are both great people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Sundial B&B was recommended by friends who are pretty discerning when it comes to quality accommodation and sundial did not disappoint. Excellent in all aspects, welcoming hosts, very comfortable rooms with all the 'touches' that make a stay here memorable.
Margaret's 'confit du canard' was the best I've tasted outside of France. Everything's fresh and 'home made' . Don't miss the 'eating in' experience as you won't find better quality and presentation in many a 'good' restaurant.
Excellent value and a very good B&B experience.
Well done Steve and Margaret. You've got it right !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greygaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed at Sundial house late last August. It was our first night in the UK and found the B & B to be excellent. Had a wonderful meal there and a superb, healthy, beautifully cooked breakfast. thank you Stephen and Margaret - my husband and I and my cousin felt very comfortable here and very welcome. The beds were extremely comfortable. I highly recommend this B & B - especially for the food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I and my friends have stayed with Steve and Margret, and the previous owners, many times over the years and have never had a complaint. A real `home from home`. When in this part of the country, or striking distance, the 6 of us would never consider staying anywhere else. (The only problem is that other regulars want to be there as well.) All the other revues are absolutly spot on. WHAT A GEM ***********

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

You know you’ve stepped into a welcoming B&B when the first thing you smell is fresh baking and you’re offered the resulting warm-from-the oven scones with jam and clotted cream, or perhaps a slice of ginger cake, with tea in a cosy lounge complete with blazing log fire.
Steve and Margaret clearly love what they do and this makes for a wonderful place to stay and explore Exmoor. Our twin room was decorated in neutral tones with lovely Nordic touches, and the shower was good. We were a bit cold in the night but there are extra blankets if you need them.
Steve’s a good chef and his full English set us up for the day exploring Snowdrop Valley and beyond. There were deliciously creamy yogurts and fresh fruit salad on offer too. And unlimited fresh coffee! It was very hard to pull ourselves away from the dreamy views towards the hills... We left Sundial feeling utterly chilled, and I can’t think of a better compliment than that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveWinterLoveSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Guest House

Address: Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sundial Guest House Wheddon Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing