We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome, excellent accomodation, food and service”

Sundial Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundial Guest House
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We were given a very friendly and helpful welcome, along with cups of tea and delicious homemade cakes. The location is suprisingly quiet. The rooms were very comfortable, with nice views and contained all you would need. Breakfast was a good selection, including fresh fruit. There were sounds of suitable satisfaction from those who had cooked breakfasts. The friendliness and helpfullness continued throughout our stay; we were left with a real sense that Margaret and Stephen genuinely enjoyed looking after their guests well. We would not hestitate to book again if we stayed again in that area.

Room Tip: The pub next door is also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in August 2010, when my girlfriend arranged a surprise weekend away with a couple of really good friends. All of us were really impressed with the service throughout the stay, and even afterwards when I received a shirt I'd left behind through the post!
The rooms were really clean and tidy, and nicely decorated. Our room had plenty of space and was en-suite, with a good shower.
The food was also really good, with a full breakfast in the mornings and tea and homemade scones on arrival. The local pub does serve food too and we found the portions there huge!
The location is rural, but we easily got around the area by car and using the regular bus service to Dunster. I think there are also a number of good (hilly) walks around the area too.
Really highly recommended and we are all very much looking forward to visiting again next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alxgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Have stayed here on a number of occasions "real regulars". Why!
1 Margaret and Steve are outstanding hosts
2 The food breakfast and dinner are top quality
3 The rooms are spotless and very comfortable
4 The cottage is in an ideal spot for walking Exmoor. Steve and Margaret able to give lots of advice re walking
Book to go and tell your friendsabout this gem

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were warmly welcomed by Steve and Margaret on our arrival at Sundial. Right away we were made to feel at home and this continued throughout our visit. Every care had been taken to make sure that we had everything we needed and our rooms were spotless, and very comfortable. We had a delicious breakfast each day, cooked by Steve and fresh fruit, juices and cereals were also available. The location was ideal for us as my husband's mum, who we had come to see, lives 2 minutes away from Sundial.
We will definitely stay again if we get the chance and would like to sample an evening meal next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We were only there one night en route to Cornwall but would loved to have stayed longer. First there was the cream tea with home made raspberry jam and warm scones. Later came the 3 course dinner which we had booked prior to arrival. That lemon posset........please can I have the recipe, it was delicious! Breakfast was equally excellent with the best crispy bacon I have had for ages. Steve and Margaret were excellent hosts and made our stay special. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Staying at the Sundial Guest House was a delightful experience .They gave us a very friendly and warm welcome into their home making sure we had all that we wanted. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy and have all that you need to enjoy a restful stay. The food is second to none and you woulndt find better in any top restaurant.Wheddon Cross is asmall but friendly villiage with a good local pub and easy access to footpaths to take in the breathtaking views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwigletHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I have now stayed at Sundial House for five weekends, spanning a total of five months. I had to travel to the area with a colleague to attend training seminars for the equine industry. I have travelled a lot in my life, and can sincerly say that this B&B is one of the nicest I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The couple who run it could not be more charming and kind and took care of me and the rest of the group staying there like we were family. The food they prepared for each Friday night, even though it was always arranged for at the last minute, was never a problem to prepare and was always made of the highest quality fresh local produce and locally sourced meat. The dinners were beautifully presented and tasted heavenly. And for those of you with a sweet tooth, the desserts were divine. The rooms are all comfortable, clean with lovely powerful showers (very important after working with horses all day!) If you are visiting Exmoor, I could not recomment enough that you give this B&B a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksonGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Guest House

Address: Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sundial Guest House Wheddon Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing