We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot!”
Review of Cutthorne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cutthorne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 7, 2011

After a really hectic year and a busy Christmas time catering for other people, our present to ourselves was to take some time out to recover, and we chose a short break in Exmoor National Park to have some time to ourselves and blow away the cobwebs after the festivities.

We had a great welcome from Pam and were shown up to the fourposter bedroom which has its own ensuite bathroom. What a luxury to soak in a hot bath after a walk on the moor.
There is a quiet lounge where we played scrabble and had a gin and tonic by the fire before being shown into the dining room and a romantic candlelit table by a huge log fire.

Our smoked salmon starters were delicious and I had a crusty game pie with local venison and fresh vegetables straight out of the kitchen garden. My husband had the vegetarian alternative, most of which had still been growing only an hour or two before! After some homemade pavlovas and cheese all washed down with a very reasonably priced rioja we retired for a comfortable nights sleep, although the silence is deafening and not what we are used to in the city!

At breakfast there was a wonderful assortment of organic fruit and berries from the garden along with homemade yoghurt, jams and preserves. Then we were offered a choice of anything we wanted cooked in the Aga.

There was a good selection of walking books and maps in the bedroom to borrow and with Phil’s local knowledge and advice on the best pubs we set off for another great days walking.

Our stay was all too short and we wished we had another day to do it justice. Cutthorne is unique and quite unlike the normal impersonal hotels we are used to. Rather like stepping back in time but with all the home comforts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjdba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

The log fire in The Ballroom and Ann's homely and hearty meals were great to come home to after a wet and wonderful day on Exmoor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank publicityshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We were met by Pam, the jewel in Cutthorne's crown, who showed us up to the Ballroom, our comfortable home for the next five days. We lit the log fire - we had forgotten to bring firelighters but the bellows worked a treat - and drew the curtains to block out the Exmoor drizzle. Everything we needed to prepare our evening meals was provided in the kitchen and in the mornings we enjoyed a splendid breakfast in the main house, cheered by another log fire. Home grown fruits and yogurt were a lovely start to the day, followed by a full English, toast and coffee. Once the rain abated, we could find no fault. We will be back to explore some more of Exmoor. Ursa Major and Ursa Minor.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ursae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

4 night stay in one of the cottages. Very helpful and friendly staff/owners and clean and tidy accomodation. Set in secluded and peaceful location with large grounds and pond. If you want ot get away from the rat-race Cutthorne is highly recommended.

Breakfast excellent but did not sample dinner. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice tranquil getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleydiscounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous 4 day stay at Cutthorne,and found the whole experience just delightful. We were fortunate to have the 4 poster bedroom,and each morning had a stunning view from the window,what a vista!!! Breakfast served in a wonderful dining room,and the breakfast,a very wide choice on offer,with a nice unusual selection of beautifully prepared fresh fruit,gooseberries,rhubarb,white currants all apparently from the garden,home made yogurt,cereals,juice,toast,and of course a very British cooked breafast,who can resist...? We didn"t...! The evening meal was equally superb, 3 courses, each cooked to perfection,fresh ingredients,original recipes and all served with care and attention to detail,and attenton to detail seems to be a priority here and the 2 wonderful ladies who run Cutthorne should be listed,along with the house itself as a NATIONAL TREASURE. To Anne we both say a very very huge THANK YOU for a fantastic stay with you.........and Sam!!!! Best Wishes Rob & Davina Scales Bressingham DISS Norfolk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougalpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We spent three pleasant nights at Cutthorne taking advantage of the surrounding land to let the kids explore with the owner's dog. The location allowed us to explore Exmoor, everthing within a short drive meant that no time was wasted and we felt we were able to maximise our short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHBHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Not as expected from the details on the web site. An unwelcoming ambience. HAd dinner on our first night, but did not repeat the experience. Food was unimaginative and poorly cooked.and not worth £21. Wine grossly overpriced. Good preserves and stewed fruit for breakfast. Shower head was tiny and almost unfunctional. The two armchairs in the bedroom had broken springs. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheddon Cross
3.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#1 of 4 in Wheddon Cross
42 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cutthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutthorne

Address: Cutthorne Cutthorne Luckwell Bridge, Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cutthorne Wheddon Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing