We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutthorne Country Hotel”
Review of Cutthorne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cutthorne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cutthorne Country Hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned home after spending a four day break at the Cutthorne Country Hotel in Wheddon Cross on Exmoor.

Having never stayed there before and uncertain as to what we would find, we looked at previous reviews about the Cutthorne posted on tripadvisor and were not disappointed.

If you want a full on, in your face, lively hotel with mass produced food and local attractions then this would not be for you.

However, if you are looking for a peaceful haven in which to unwind from the rigours of working life, if you want seclusion with fantastic views, if you enjoy walking and if you value good home cooked food and friendly people this should satisfy your every need.

The hotel sits in a secluded spot on a hill just outside of Wheddon Cross and we stayed in the four poster bedroom. The views along the valley from our room were fantastic and each morning we awoke to a birds chorus. It was delightful.

We were greeted by Pam on arrival and her friendly manner made us feel immediately at home. Pam, Patty and Phil looked after us so very well and Pam is such a source of information that we found her invaluable. She is also does the cooking and grows her own vegetables in the garden and these are served for dinner each day. What can be better than to eat fresh vegetables dug from the garden only minutes before.They are truly delicious.

The house is really homely with the smell of wood burning on the fire and you are immediately transported to that "in the country" feel.

The location in the centre of Exmoor makes it a superb hub for exploring, walking or relaxing. The choice is entirely yours.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone who wants a break in which they can unwind, chill out and go back home totally relaxed and feel that they have been taken care of.

A huge thank you to Pam, Phil, Ann and Patty.

Room Tip: We chose the four poster bedroom and were not disappointed. The views down the valley are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithgwilliams8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely accommodation & location. Pam was fantastic couldn't do enough for you & her cooking was wonderful. We went to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday & had wonderful time but as it is a family run hotel it would be nice if the owner's acknowledged you after all we are their guests .We have been here for 3 nights & they are talking in the kitchen but haven't spoken to us. Not what you would expect from a small hotel. Maybe we will see them when the bill needs to be paid!!
A big well done to Pam thanks.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chosen for its posistion in the heart of Exmoor we were looking for a good alternative to a standard hotel and Cutthone didn't disappoint living up to and exceeding all expectations. It is in a lovely position with stunning views across Exmoor, down an enchanting lane from the road, and we received a warm welcome so we felt at home right away. . As you approach the house there is a large medieval cobbled yard with stone walls and delightful flowers. We stayed in one of the stone cottages surrounding the yard and both it and the house are extrememly cosy and comfortable. We chose to eat in the dining room every evening as well as breakfasting and the food was excellent including much of the produce which is produced from the extensive kitchen garden. Every effort was made to accomodate us including our special dietary requirenments. I have rarelly had such a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. It is an excellent base for seeing Exmoor and the lovely villages and the fine coastal towns with many places of interest. The whole area is full of excellent walks for all abilities, and the cliff walk at the Valley of the Rocks near Lynton, the gardens at Dunster castle, the steam railway from Minehead to Bishops Lyddiard, Doone Valley (for those who've read the book and for those who haven't), Dunkery Beacon, close by and the most deliciious ice cream laced with clotted cream are especially memorable. I would love to revisit Cutthorne at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Cutthorne farm is situated in the heart of the Exmoor national park and it is off the beaten track in more than one sense. While it offers today’s amenities, they were integrated in a way that do not ruin its charm and character. So, the whole place has retained a wonderful atmosphere.

Our room was spacious and had a wonderful view onto the garden with a bird feeder which was busy the entire day, and after that onto grazing horses. The room itself was nice, with thick carpets, a comfy double bed, all impeccable clean. The bathroom was equally huge, but here there was some price to pay for retaining the charm – there was no mirror over the wash basin as is normally the case, instead it was standing on a separate table. Also, the light was a bit dim. But that is about the only negative thing.

The most positive thing for sure was the staff, most prominently Pam. Genuine friendly and warm, they jumped through hoops to look after us and the other guests.

The breakfast left nothing to be desired. And what was a nice extra – the food was homegrown or organic whenever possible. We really loved the self-produced yogurt. As a bonus, we also had dinner at Cutthorne, and here Pam used the opportunity to really shine as a chef, even though us being vegetarians limited her options.

For our dog, it was equally terrific. The smaller rounds we could do on the grounds of the farm, and for the bigger walk, we had an entire national park at our disposal. Nice.
So, if you want to slow down a bit and get in touch with yourself, this is an ideal place. For us, it was a perfect stay and If we return to the Exmoor region, we will surely stay there again.
Thank you, Pam and Patty

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights but it wasn't long enough. Myself and my dog were made most welcome, our room was cozy, warm and peaceful.
The food served here is mainly organic & homegrown from their garden . You can really taste the difference. Wonderful fruits, jams and home breads were served for breakfast. So If you want to sample the real Devon, I recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shibadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a spectacular place, the accommodation was warm and cosy, set in lovely grounds with breathtaking views of Exmoor. Cutthorne was a great place to use as a base to get out and about on Exmoor and neighboring villages.The owners were very helpful and friendly.
We would definitely recommend this as a relaxing,peaceful short break or holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Step back in time and enjoy complete peace in this comfortable farmhouse. The views from the four-poster bedroom are superb. The breakfast is hearty and wholesome with home-grown stewed fruit and yoghurt + cereals followed by tasty cooked egg, bacon, sausage, tomato etc. We ate in on two evenings and Ann's suppers are homemade and filling. It took us nearly 20 years to return after our first one night visit here but this time we extended our stay to 4 nights as we were so reluctant to leave.

Room Tip: The four poster room is very spacious & has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank office_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cutthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cutthorne

Property: Cutthorne
Address: Cutthorne Cutthorne Luckwell Bridge, Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cutthorne Wheddon Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing