We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday from. Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Huntspill
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Dont pay full costs until you know everything is working (that is for the lodges) b and b rooms are not too bad in fact 100. Times better than the lodges. We didn't get what we paid for Until we had been there 7 nights an finally the lodge that we had booked. What a hole filthy dirty, and nothing that I could clean with not even a broom. The shower wasn't working it was reported but nothing was done the owner couldn't care less he had our money, on the end we decided to leave one day early when we realised the shower wouldn't b fixed (we were told there was no pressure) David Cox the owner couldn't care less once he has your money and there was no way that we would get a paltry refund for leaving one day early, we felt like tramps!

Room Tip: If you have a self catering room make sure Cooker is working as we'll as the shower
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We only stayed one night, but was pleasantly surprised after reading some awful reports. True it does need updating, but it gives good value for money. We had a large, clean bedroom, rather tired ensuite, but wonderful fluffy towels. Dinner was good, as was breakfast. I would definitely stay again if I needed accommodation in that area. Booked through "Late Rooms".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winefride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My boyfriends grandparents booked to stay here whilst visiting for our sons christening. They had booked a 2 bedroom chalet but upon arrival they were sent to a one bed B&B room. After telling a very rude member of staff at reception there must be a mistake he sent them off to another room .. which was exactly the same! (you would have thought atleast the staff would know how many bedrooms were in which rooms) Again they went back and said it was the wrong room. The owner agreed to open up the room next door to them so they could have two bedrooms (as booked) but told them this would be only be temporary as they need the rooms later in the week. After a lovely and long day at my sons christening they returned back to the "hotel" to find there was a stranger stood in their room. It turned out the owner had told the staff to move their belongings to another room as that one was needed! Nobody had tried to contact them, they just went into the room whilst they were out for the day and moved their stuff! unbelievable. Leaving behind the food which they brought in the fridge, some of their clothes and their ipad! Luckily the family that had moved into their room were honest and returned the ipad. (the other items are still missing) They were absolutely mortified that people had been through their belongings.
We went to visit on one of the days to take our son swimming and the place was filthy. The changing rooms were covered in mould and scum. The place had absolutely atmosphere about it, they are obviously trying to save money by not turning on any of the lights. Perhaps the money they save they could use to invest in a hoover.
In the end our grandparents couldn't stand it any longer and checked out early. They confronted the owner and told him how disgusted they were and asked for a days worth of money to be refunded as they weren't going to stay any longer. He told them he would sort it out for them. Which to no surprise.. he never did.
This is possibly one of the worst "hotels" i have come across for a long time. The owner is rude, not only to the customers but to his own staff. He has absolutely no concept of hospitality and should not be allowed to take peoples money to provide them "accommodation".
Disgraceful.

Room Tip: None. They are all filthy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stopped here for one night in August and can not fault it. The room was very clean and spacious enough for one night. We were in a budget room and we were still very impressed. The owner was very friendly and hospitable. The en-suite was very clean and the shower was fine. Breakfast was lovely there were cereals juice etc to help yourselves to and then they would make you hot breakfasts fresh. All of the staff who met were lovely and I honestly do not have a negative thing to say. I simply can't understand all of the negative reviews of this hotel. I would certainly recommend and return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMZ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed there for two nights the lodge we stayed in was really nice, the staff was really helpful it has a nice swimming pool and the breakfast was really nice you could help yourself to as much as you like we will be staying there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a hidden gem. Clean and comfortable bungalows with your own parking space, patio area and most of them with your own outside table and chairs. The location is rural, so away from the hustle and bustle of Burnham on Sea. There is the Huntspill river close by and a nature reserve. So if you enjoy the countryside and walking then it is perfect. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool, a mini gym and a sauna with changing rooms and a shower. There is an onsite bar with a pool table and good home cooked (basic but value for money) food in the evening. There is a tennis court and you can even arrange clay pigeon shooting. The breakfast was really something else - as much as you could eat - toast, yoghurt, fruit juice, cereal, grapefruit and a full English. The staff are particularly attentive and kind. The owner, Dave, is a lovely bloke and nothing is too much trouble. We are already planning our next stay there this year. I really can't think of a single downside.

Thank you to Dave and the team for the a lovely 4 night break. See you soon.

Gina and Dave (Commonwealth Club)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I needed to somewhere to stay for a night with a small dog. I read the reviews on here and usually find that people are overly harsh (I'm easy going) so booked. When we drive in it looked dilapidated, but thinking that it's just missing a coat of paint we went in.

The whole venue is very dated, and in a poor state of repair. But I can look past that. The bed was clean, but the room was dirty (hairs on the floor, cobwebs around room) but the shower was a bit slimy under my feet. The plug sockets loose, the 'power' part of the power shower didn't work, meaning that it dribbled.

I have stayed in Youth Hostels for £30 a double room that were far better.

The breakfast was good, and the staff were very friendly.

I gave my credit card details as a deposit, and was told to may full in cash upon arrival - but they took 50% deposit on my card as well without me knowing, so I had to phone up several times the next week to get a refund (still not showing). SO CHECK YOUR BANK BALANCE!

It's a shame, a lot of potential, but cannot recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_joe_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Huntspill
2.5 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
30 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
655 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
622 reviews
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House Lodge Hotel

Address: 4 Sloway Lane, West Huntspill TA9 3RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > West Huntspill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Huntspill
Price Range: $76 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Laburnum House Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laburnum House Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laburnum House Hotel West Huntspill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing