We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ralegh's Cross Inn
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
149
83
28
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
83
28
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspavlovaapple piethe pubspecials boardcreaky floorboardslovely mealgenerous portionscomfortable bedfour posterfull english breakfastexcellent stayfeel very welcomewarm welcomepuddingstayed for one nighttea and coffeecarvery
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 291 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A great find and an ideal base for getting to Exmoor's highlights.
We were on a 3 night break and it seemed like a longer holiday.
We had a comfortable, well furnished, room with nice decor throughout. The only slight worry was the noisy plumbing.
The food was as good and plentiful as promised and the Exmoor ale was exactly what the doctor ordered after long days on the moor. Sadly, even with the walking, the calorie intake exceeded the carlories burned off but we really enjoyed everything we had.
All the staff were welcoming and friendly - simply a great place to relax and enjoy life.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelesMeles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We held our wedding reception at the Raleghs Cross on 18th June, we booked this over a year ago and had many dealings with Karin over this period, she was fantastic and a real asset to the place, I cannot thank her enough for everything. We booked all the rooms out and Karin again was very helpful in accomodating friends with children and my Mum and Dad and their dog. The rooms were great, very clean and comfortable, the only downside is the inside rooms all have creaking floorboards, so if you are a light sleeper choose an outside room or one at the end of the corridor so you are not disturbed by people walking past your room. The reception was perfect, the food was excellent (all credit to the chef) and the staff that were looking after us were fantastic (Di especially), nothing was too much trouble and they were very patient with us at the end of the night when we were trying to get everyone up to their rooms. Breakfast the next morning was great, as it was buffet it worked perfectly as it meant people had the choice of whatever they wanted, the only downside was that it was a bit early for some people! We had feedback from everyone on how wonderful the location, food and staff were and I would recommend this place to anyone considering having a party/wedding.

Room Tip: Outside rooms don't have creaking floorboards
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWaiteTiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We re-visited Raleghs Cross after a period of 15 months since our last stay and received an excellent welcome. We were allocated a four-poster room with two chairs and a comfortable sofa. The food was as good as ever although it would have been nice to have had the availability of a boiled or poached egg on the breakfast menu rather than just the buffet fried / grilled options. The evening meals were excellent and served with very little waiting time. A nice touch for us was the offer of room service for a mid afternoon alcoholic beverage when we returned from our touring day to discover that the bar was closed between 2pm and 6pm daily. All in all an enjoyable return stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holland_wales13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great location, clean & comfortable room, impressive choice of food. Overall great value for money. Would stay here again! Only one small negative - no free internet access which seems silly as they have a wireless network in place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We live locally (about 35 minute drive) and had passed this pub before without going in. Decided on the spur of the moment one Saturday and drive out that way for a meal. We arrived to a packed car park. Pub is set in lovely location, huge beer garden with good play area set back from the road - would be a fab place to sit on sunny day. As the pub looked busy we were preparing ourselves to dine outside. Luckily as we were entering a table were leaving so we arrived just in time. Warm welcome from bar staff and good menu (including help yourself carvery) available. Several choices for me a vegetarian. All dishes at very good value prices considering that this place must be popular with tourists and locals alike, it's nice to see they haven't inflated the prices. Hubby had a mixed grill which was £9.95 and I had a veggie lasagne for £8.50 - with all the trimmings and very enjoyable it was too, proper "pub grub" which we like. No fancy foams or "jus" here!!

Service was polite and and delivered at perfect timings even though the pub was packed and not a single table empty, they were even turning away people wanting tables as we were dining. Service was delivered with a smile & friendly manner and I heard this being appreciated several times in the way of the tips jar on the bar behind me.

After reading the reviews on here I really don't know what the "50th birthday party group" are trying to achieve, this is clearly going to continue to be a popular pub no matter how much they try to continue to post about their bad experience. You only have to look at the packed car park and happy customers tucking into wholesome pub grub to see that this place is a little gem. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank masie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews