We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bell inn”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Watchet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional family run pub, located approx 100yds away from the marina in Watchet. We serve a variety of local ales and cider, plus Carlsberg, Guinness and a good selection of wines. Our Guinness was quality approved by Diageo in April 2014 and we were named pub of the week in The Daily Telegraph guide to the best of British pubs" pint to pint"in October 2013, in April 2016 we were also named one of the top thirty pubs in the country by The Daily Telegraph. Food is served daily with freshly battered cod and chips a speciality, plus the new award winning selection of humble pies, and our homemade lasagnes, curries and chilli.Open all day from 12-00, food is served every lunchtime and evening, except for sunday and Tuesday evenings. We hope that everyone has an enjoyable experience whilst visiting us. We are happy to welcome dogs into the pub, they have even been known to have one of our locally produced sausages purchased for them, but would ask that they remain on a lead, under control of the owner and seated on the floor at all times, drinking water is provided for them in the courtyard garden.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a couple of meals which were very good, service was good, good atmosphere and great that you take the dog in as well, overall a good place to go

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SuzyT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I read through the previous review's on the Bell and yes I agree it is a good pub, We visited the pub several times it's clean and comfortable and yes the landlord could be a miserable sod! but to be fair he has a dry sense of humour and I can understand that he's not everyone's cup of tea.
Anyway the pub has a good selection of beer's and the history of the pub dates back to the 1600's.
We didn't try the food and they do not serve food on Sunday's there's a quiz night on Tuesday and open mike on Wednesday's if I was back in town in the future yes I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a quite spacious pub with plenty of seating. It's clean and well-kept. The bar staff were particularly good - friendly and helpful. There are free newspapers and - very happily - chocolate bars for sale at the bar!

There is only a small patio at the rear, but it is pleasant. The range of beers included one "secret" local ale, which, unfortunately, was on the turn. There was a reasonable wine list, and you could also buy individual small bottles of wine from a smaller range.

There was some traditional music being played when we visited, which imparted a very friendly atmosphere.

Thank Tisharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a leisurely drive taking in the sights on Sunday found ourselves in Watchet, coming to the end of lunchtime feeling the need of a pick me up and food we popped into The Bell. Service with a smile and good conversation, nothing was too much trouble, from the lovely barmaid/waitress to the landlord. Just the right side of quiet, we had missed the earlier lunchtime "rush", with a nice mix of locals and visitors. Next time I'm down will be popping in again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Outandabout001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We popped in this pub on a visit to Watchet and I'm afraid to say, the Landlord was not very friendly at all!! We tried to make conversation, but he was clearly having a 'bad day'!!! We were considering having a lunchtime meal in this pub, but were glad we opted for another local pub as giving this miserable Landlord our trade would not of gone down well. I'm afriad we won't be making another visit until he can at least crack a smile.......not good!!!!!!!!!!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
6  Thank Jurassica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing