We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent classy B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #1 of 10 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent classy B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little guest house, beautifully kitted out and the little extra touches that makes it stand out.
The rooms are equivalent to a 5 star hotel, but the service is warm and cosy. Jason does a great job on the breakfast and the base is excellent to. Is it the surrounding countryside.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Kevin,
I'm so glad you both and a good time at Swain House despite the dreadful storms that came before Christmas! Still goos you could laugh about the zero visibility and sideways rain!

Thank you for such a great review and more importantly taking time out on Boxing day to write it!

Do come again, it would be lovely to see you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I really enjoyed our 2 nights at Swain House. The attention to detail was brilliant, the breakfasts were delicious, the beds were really comfy and the showers were really refreshing. We really can't fault it. Plus Jason was really friendly and also helpful in his suggestions of places to eat and drink and walk. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy1979Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi Katy,
Thanks you for such a lovely review... I'm glad you and Jon had a good weekend at Swain House... I hope if you did the walk we talked about you didn't get too wet as the skies just opened later on Sunday afternoon...

Come again it would be good to see you...

Best,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room photos on the web site had me hooked! We hadn't planned to visit Watchet (although it is well worth visiting, very quaint) but on seeing the wall murals I knew I'd found our road trip stopover.
Mum and I were sharing so one room would have done, but in fact I booked two rooms because they looked so delightful. Actually mum shared with Charlotte Sophia, painted by Allan Ramsay who portrays her resplendent in richly textured robes of brocade and ermine and I shared with a beautiful young girl painted by Claude-Marie Dubufet. Both are sections of paintings hanging in the National Portrait Gallery in London.
Murals aside, there was not one thing we could have faulted about Swain House. Everything was beautifully presented, the attention to detail was superb - stylish, considered, crisp and clean. Breakfast was fabulous, some lovely art and design books to pore over if you have time and we enjoyed seeing the photos of all the renovation work Jason has undertaken to get this place up and running.
Your creative background certainly shines out Jason! Well done, we loved it!
Rae and Holly (Australia)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Rae,
Thank you for such a lovely review... I hope you and your Mum had a great holiday, so glad you came and stayed at Swain House... All the best, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The reviews are right. This boutique B&B is fabulous and the pictures don't do it justice. Clean, modern, great sized rooms, and everything has been thought of.....oh and the pancakes for breakfast are a must!! A great base to explore and relax. Highly recommended. Well done Jason.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

What's not to like? Very well furnished, all mod cons, fantastic breakfast, you can even hear the steam trains from your room. For the ladies, soft dressing gowns and fab bathroom products, healthy breakfast options and a powerful hair dryer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cj6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We couldn't fault Swain House in terms of decor, cleanliness and atmosphere. Jason was very welcoming and has obviously put a lot of thought into his visitors comfort. Excellent base for exploring Exmoor and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've never stayed in a B&B before, but there are no hotels actually in Watchet, so this one looked the best online, and was it!!!! We weren't dissappointed, no chintz, no dusty clutter, just beautifully designed rooms with great attention to detail and everything of great quality, comfort and character. Jason was the perfect host and our short visit was perfect in every way. This was a fantastic 'find', and I wish him well for the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
5.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
5.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Property: Swain House
Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing