We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our very high expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #1 of 10 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Exceeded our very high expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a very relaxing 2 nights at Swain House whilst celebrating my husband’s birthday. I had chosen it after extensive research on Tripadvisor and had very high expectations. These were totally fulfilled. Jason was a great host who made us feel very welcome and his insider tips of locals walks and attractions were top notch. The room was fantastic, just like it looked on the website photos. The bed was lovely and firm and the bathroom absolutely stunning with both a huge bath & a walk-in shower. The little touches like warm milk in a thermos for your morning coffee & fresh biscuits were a nice addition. The public spaces were immaculate and the breakfast a joy. Jason does both a vegetarian & full English fry-up. I tried both and have to say the grilled halloumi has now made me a convert for the latter. He even does fresh smoothies & carrot juice which you don’t get in most places. Watchet itself was quaint and relaxing and we are already planning a return trip. Stay here, you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spodling
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited for three nights and loved it. Jason was extremely warm and welcoming - even though we got stuck in traffic and arrived very late (sorry!). Rooms perfect, both from an amenity and design perspective. Brownies and flask of fresh milk for tea/coffee a lovely touch. Great breakfast which catered for the full English through to the health conscious. Jason very honest about local area, where to find the right pubs/restaurants. All in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but at the back you won't overlook the street (I think?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spodling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The jewel in the unspoilt seaside town of Watchet. Swain House is a real find, beautiful bedrooms, luxurious bathrooms. Jason is a perfect host, and a great chef, we will return if we are back in the area.
Thank you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillNorfolk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the welcome, to the stylish, immaculate, breathtaking room to the delicious breakfast, everything about Swain House was perfect for a relaxing, comfortable break. It was so tastefully decorated, each and every tiny detail has clearly been thought about long and hard. I can't speak highly enough of this lovely place. We loved it :)

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all amazing, but we stayed in room 4 at the back and could see the trains w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 999Clara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Swain house has to be the best place we have stayed, you really have to stay to believe it.
The rooms were immaculate, food was very nice.
Swain house will defiantly a place we will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colbyjack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had some last minute holiday and decided to go walking on Exmoor and the South West Coastal path. We looked for somewhere to stay around Porlock and Watchet as it looked like a good base. I came across Swain House amid the normal B&B's and holiday hotels and it stood out as something different. The space they have created is a real change to the norm and would be more befitting of a boutique hotel rather than a B&B. it's not cheap but the attention to detail and the quality of what they provide stands out, from the toiletries to the Charcuterie they can offer as an evening meal. We were made very welcome and given some great advice on what walks to take around the beautiful coastline. We only stayed one night but it certainly showed what some thought and great customer service can achieve. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to our friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful B&B, friendly warm service, oozing style and class. Comfortable bed, room and bath. I'm still regretting not smuggling out the bath products. The breakfast was the best food we ate over the whole weekend. All in all a lovely and highly recommended establishment!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliNuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
5.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
5.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Property: Swain House
Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing