We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - New B'nB”
Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #3 of 14 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thankfully we found this gem before we booked anywhere else! Gorgeous renovation, with modern comforts and an amazing fit out - that somehow doesn't feel out of place in the traditional fishing town of Whatchet.

While searching for accommodation in Watchet, I was worried we would have to settle for a very old fashioned 'frilly' guest house.

As luck would have it, Swain House, a new, renovated BnB was recommended and what a lovely spot.

Owner/operator Jason met us on arrival and was lovely for our whole stay.

Breakfast, served in the downstairs communal lounge area, was delicious.

Fresh coffee and truffles were a nice surprise in our room when we arrived.

I would not hesitate recommending this spot to anyone.

Both beautiful, comfortable and tasteful in decoration and fit out.

Five stars, well deserved - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz_Mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hi Marianne & Dan,
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Swain House. I do hope you come back again with friends and enjoy another fishing trip! Again thanks and I'm glad you liked the homemade truffles...

Kind Regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Swain House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

This new b&b is certainly eye candy for those of us who appreciate good design and enjoy seeing new life breathed into what might otherwise be another empty shop building littering our small British towns. Lots of TLC has been taken over the renovation of this property, the house is a joy to be in, great beds, bathrooms and social area/breakfast room. Detail is impeccable - from ipod docking stations in the bedrooms to welcoming home baked flapjack on arrival. The owners have put a lot of thought into making their guests feel welcome, Jason was truly an excellent host.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hi John,
Thank you for the review, most kind. I do hope you both had a lovely walk after you left us and found Bossington beach. If you are in the area again, do come and stay, or at least pop i for a coffee.

Kind Regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank 568peterv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Juco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lébobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions la chambre en façade sur rue, la n°1. Nous sommes restés 2 nuits, pas un bruit. La numér...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydiadiazalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#4 of 14 in Watchet
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Somerset Hotel
West Somerset Hotel
#10 of 14 in Watchet
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet TA23 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range: $199 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swain House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing