We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grandkids loved it!”
Review of Doniford Farm - CLOSED

Doniford Farm
Attraction details
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The grandkids loved it!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Simply don't understand dsome reviewers on Tripadvisor; moan, moan, moan! The farm is great, those animals that are in cages look well cared for and have plenty of space; the roaming free farm animals are used to visitors and kids, so are friendly and forgiving. It's all very relaxed and the staff are friendly too. The old farm buildings are extensive and very run-down, as is to be expected, as they've long been useless for modern farming, but they are interesting, as that's what farming was like. Cafe is very good - and inexpensive so, as entry to the farm is free the whole deal simply couldn't be better value

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OldCodgerSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    92
    42
    25
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“a scandal of a farm”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

frankly the farm element of the location is a scandal and really should be closed down, the animals are not kept in the best environments and I felt ashamed to be part the viewing visitors to this run down badly kept location. It was free but was still over priced. In the cafe the coffee was good and otherwise the grub ok.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank kisscycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disturbing”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As we were nearby and it was a wet day we thought we'd take our 3 yr old daughter to see Doniford Farm as she likes seeing farm animals. I knew in advance there were meerkats there but was still happy to go as they are held in captivity in many places and I imagined this would be no different. On arrival the first thing we noticed were the sad looking Coati's in a small dirty enclosure pacing up and down. The meerkats were in dirty pens inside a barn. There was a light dangling on a piece of twine that was supposed to be the only source of heat/light but a distressed looking meerkat was leaning on it (it wasn't on). Two enormous beautiful eagle owls were hooting in their pen inside the barn - they looked dishevelled along side the sad looking racoon. Outside was an enormous lizard in a pen with the rain coming down on him. In another barn were neumorous tropical creatures in filthy conditions (giant tortoise/goanna/blue macaw/snake etc..... small pens - no natural light and lamps held on string and the outdoor pens were similarly dirty...
Another barn had farm implements, snares, mangles and warning signs everywhere - including one about the farm cat saying 'do not touch him, he has issues'.......
To be honest the owners have 'issues'.
I was shocked when going into the well lit, well stocked shop that was selling cuddly toys by the bucket load, mostly cuddly meerkats... The busy cafe was doing a roaring trade and the food looked good. The staff were well dressed and the money was flowing!!!!!!!!!!!
This place is a disgrace!! If people in this day and age get entertained by seeing animals in gross conditions then go and support it by buying lunch then education on wildlife welfare needs sorting. This is the worst conditions I've seen animals kept in.
If you decide to go then make your own mind up - My wife and I left feeling sad. My daughter though loved seeing the piglets..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Robjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I came here to give this farm a five star review and was surprised to read the more negative ones. The place we visited today was clean, the animals looked healthy and the café was upmarket for Watchet and offered wholesome fare. If we hadn't just had breakfast at our hotel we'd definitely have eaten there and plan to go back the next time that we are in the area. The black sow, Liquorice, had just given birth to lots of little black piglets which were dashing around the enclosure waving their tiny tails. The goats and a much larger pink pig came over to see us and the place had a generally good atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little farm”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is well worth a visit, especially because it's free!!! There are some farm animals but also some zoo animals too. Our two children loved it. The farm shop is good and so is the café. Everything they sell in the shop you can buy in the café. We tried the café and it was busy, always a good sign! The children's pizza was brilliant as it was homemade on some tiger bread with homemade tomato sauce. I had the breakfast, which is served all day, this was delicious and their own produce! My only bad point was that they didn't open till 10am and we would have liked to have breakfast there but this is too late for us to have breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doniford Farm also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing