We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiting Staff have Issues”
Review of Chives Deli

Chives Deli
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Watchet
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waiting Staff have Issues”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have eaten here on several occasions... there is no problem with the food they produce, far from it as we keep going back... but the biggest problem was the waiting staff (a women of a certain older age) she was just plain miserable,,, asking for a coffee / food was far too much trouble for her!!! no warm welcome just greeted by her miserable face.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erd1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    22
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed Couple”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

my partner and I went to Chives deli and café hoping to find something nice to eat and drink we found neither as the tea was very week and so was the soup we had to wait 20 minuets for it, all so there was a laptop being used on the deli counter not very hygienic very dear will never go there again .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No concept of service”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our second attempt to try a meal at Chives. On our last visit earlier in the year we gave up and walked out after being ignored for 20 minutes, despite it not being very busy. Today we were acknowledged after about 10 minutes and 5 minutes later the table was cleaned and cleared of the messy debris of the previous occupants. Eventually we got some average paninis, a reasonable salad and a handful of seemingly stale crisps from the end of the packet. We did have some pleasant Bottle Green drinks. The deli counter had seen better days and was short of the interesting and exotic products of previous years. All in all a lacklustre experience. While we were there another prospective customer gave up and left without getting any service. Another was on the verge of leaving when an anxious looking waitress arrived. A shame as this place has a lot potential to be good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Squawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little tea shop”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A lovely little tea shop. Family friendly. A good selection of food and drinks available. Can also purchase a variety of products to take home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We'd had a wander around Watchet on a Saturday afternoon, looking for a cream tea or similar and ended up at the Chives - it looked like the best bet for Watchet. What disappintment it turned out to be. The staff glared as we walked me, not a flicker of a smile. We found a table and asked for a cream tea but were told they'd run out of scones. We settled for tea cakes and a pot of tea - they had to check that the tea cakes were possible because the 'chef' had left for the day - all they need is a toaster, not actually cooking or baking! But we were lucky - the toaster was working!

All I can say is don't bother going in after about 3.45 because you'll get the distinct idea that you are not wanted and it's too close to closing time to actually serve you. Forget a smile or welcome. What a shame. And what a bad advertisement for Watchet - won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northernstarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chives Deli also viewed

 
Watchet, Somerset
 

Been to Chives Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing