We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Chives Deli

Chives Deli
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Watchet
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awful”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went in as our preferred cafe was full. The staff were unfriendly and took forever to serve us. The food when it eventually arrived was tasteless and luke warm, the milk shakes were just flavoured milk... no care at all was given either to the food or service....a big shame.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderershep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    22
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On a recent holiday to the area we called into Watchet and found this lovely café and deli. we ordered the cream tea and were very satisfied with the size of the scone and the taste of the cream tea .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 684308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely eating place”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here, having the home made pasty with blue cheese! It tasted great and was not a combination we had seen before! The staff were friendly and the decor charming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not planning to return”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch and very disappointed. Staff were unfriendly and faintly harrassed even though it wasn't busy. Cheese scone was unpleasantly sweet (suspect it was same as the cream tea scones with cheese on top - mighty weird) and tuna panino was very mediocre. Shame, as it is a lovely village to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fromagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful food why........ It's not rocket science”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stopped off in Watchet for a light lunch yesterday and went to Chives. What a mistake it was quiet when we arrived but the food was awful, we both ordered the quiche and salad but when it came after what seemed like quite a wait it was only Luke warm around the edge and cold in the middle (clearly a microwave job) more to the point cheese and onion quiche that had never seen any cheese it was more like soggy scrambled eggs sat in soggy pastry The salad looked nice but was saturated in a sickly sweet dressing. I really don't understand how a so called deli restaurant can get it so wrong so I am writing this review as a very disappointed customer who will never come back. All i can say is get real this type of food should be perfect it's your job Not rocket science!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chives Deli also viewed

 
Watchet, Somerset
 

Been to Chives Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing