We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rocks”
Review of Pebbles Tavern

Pebbles Tavern
Ranked #1 of 1 Bars & Pubs in Watchet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Pebbles Tavern has been voted CAMRA Somerset Branch Cider Pub of the Year and South West Region Cider Pub of the Year both in 2014 & 2015. This covers the areas of Devon, Cornwall, Somerset, Bristol, Bath, Swindon and borders, Gloucestershire and North Wiltshire. We were also Regional winners in the Cider Pub category for 'The Great British Pub Awards' 2015. We specialise in real traditional ciders and have a large selection of these. We also serve Real Ale straight from the cask, no pipes, from our quirky tap room. We have a large selection of single malts as well as Somerset cider brandys from local Burrowhill (the only legal distiller of cider brandy in Europe), a large selection of Gins & Rums. Also red and white wines of quality. We have locally produced apple juices from Herbi4 apple juice company. These are apples from orchards across the Quantocks, just like the Mad Apple cider we supply. Please come and enjoy our natural organic atmosphere, not to mention our regular live music events. Please see our website for full details of events. We no longer serve food but are more than happy for people to eat their fish and chips from the Harbour fish & chip bar next door.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rocks”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Visited Pebbles Saturday night and what a treat. a fantastic range of ciders at very reasonable prices. Free music that I would happily have paid to listen too and very friendly staff. I visit Watchet regularly and am wondering why I have not been in before. Definitely my new local away from home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chipnwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    28
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhiwderin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Table service for two weary hikers”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Most people stagger out of a pub... we staggered into Pebbles Tavern. We'd been walking for five days from Chepstow to Watchet and my poor toes were covered in blisters. With an hour or two to kill before our bus to Taunton, we were attracted by Pebbles' wonderful sign (what is is about Somerset and its signposts?). The landlord, recognising our weariness, rushed over and insisted on providing us with table service. The range of ciders on offer was incredible - we were told about their provenance and provided with little tasters of several before finally deciding on our order. Our only lament is that we don't live a lot closer to this wonderful tavern with its fantastic offerings and wonderful service. Keep up the good work. We hope to be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWalkersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A gleaming diamond”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

What a great find in a mixed bag of local bars. You'll find a fabulous selection of locally produced beverages enthusiastically served by Tanya and her team. I particularly liked the cider brandy. Best of all, the patrons were friendly & lively. The live music was beautiful & we had the pleasure of hearing the BBC R2 young folk musician of the year play accordion while there. Deserves to be #1 in west Somerset.

Helpful?
1 Thank CatB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed all our cider tasting . The knowledge and info that the owners had was a great start to our holiday . I very much enjoyed the cider cherry brandy a great way to finish a relaxed evening out . Looking forward to visiting again soon .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Avril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

A real gem, a bar full of character, and characters. No nonsense, just fantastic local ciders and ales, at unbeatable prices. Get your drinking boots on, and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EalingBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pebbles Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Pebbles Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing