We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful break, wonderful location, marvellous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Advent Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wood Advent Farm
Ranked #3 of 10 Watchet B&B and Inns
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful break, wonderful location, marvellous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had dinner. The farm is on a secluded lane in a beautiful wooded valley. We had a lovely friendly welcome with the on the terrace and home made chocolate cake. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean with an amazing bathroom. The fresh home cooked dinner was beautifully presented and plentiful, as well as being very tasty. A lovely stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wood Advent Farm felt as if we were sharing a well loved home. Our hosts were truly friendly, helpful, and polite. Everything was so comfortable, from the beds to the sofas. We were welcomed with tea and home made cake. The room was huge with a private bathroom next door, with tons of hot water. The bed was so comfy and we had a wonderful sleep. The situation is great, up a tiny lane out of Roadwater and the stars at night were amazing.
We had dinner which was superb - all home made and so tasty.
The house is full of what look like antiques and some of the sofas etc are a bit shabby, but it didn't matter, it all belonged and felt so very homely.
I thought this place was magic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

As a previous reviewer said "A gem in the N Somerset countryside". Half the fun is getting there but you can always get directions from the pub in the village. The rooms are seriiously comfortable and the sitting/ dining area lends itself to long chats around the fire putting the world to rights. If further discussion needed, then the hot tub is the place for serious debates!!

The whole atmosphere at the Farm is very welcoming and the setting is sublime

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngordonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

we have just returned after a weekend at wood advent farm our hosts and their staff were very pleasant but we felt the property was a little tired and needed a bit of TLC . How often do you pay £40 + a night and eat and drink from chipped crockery each day , some rooms are very much better than others so be sure to book a superior , also sadly there were several piles of fresh doggie pooh as we left the house ! not a nice farewell .

Room Tip: pay extra for a superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank maddy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Wood Advent Farm as part of a walking tour on the Coleridge Way (very good 36-mile footpath) and did not know what to expect as accommodation was chosen for us. In the event we could not possibly have chosen better anyway. The house is fairly remote (perhaps a mile from the small village of Roadwater) and the view from the road did nothing to prepare us for the magical nature of the place. We were welcomed with much-needed drinks, and then with tea and exceptionally good home made cake, by our charming hostess and then shown round the house which seemed to have rooms everywhere, all of them very large and beautifully furnished, with terrific beds. The setting of the house is equally magical - in truly beautiful seclusion in a sort of hidden valley and we had a superb night's stay. I would recommend this spot to everyone (and probably will).

Room Tip: Due to the distance from any village the lovely lady at Wood Advent is also prepared to cook evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family (16 plus 2 babies) have recently returned from a wonderful long weekend at The Granary, a converted barn, opened in October 2009. My sister in law and her family, who were visiting from Australia, found and booked this accommodation and what a find it was.

The accommodation is split into 8 bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms and is on three levels. There is a large open plan kitchen, dining and living area and there is also a small mezzanine TV gallery with Sky and Wi fi. It does have a 5 star rating and Gold Award from the “Visit England” Inspector.

We had exclusive use of a hot tub, which went down a treat and could have used the outside pool by the farmhouse but none of us did. There was decking and chairs/tables adjoining the hot tub. All the hot water/heating for both The Granary and farmhouse (B&B) is supplied from a waste burner, located close to the barn.

As some reviewers have already mentioned, the farm is approached by a narrow lane (only 9ft wide), although there is not much traffic on it and we did not have to reverse! We did find the best way, where the road is slightly wider, was through the village of Roadwater from the A39, in a north east/south west direction. However, beware when in Roadwater, as the small lane (Harpers Lane) leading up to the farm is easily missed. It is immediately behind a house that fronts Watersmeet Close. The lane has a blue sign saying “Road Ahead narrows to 9 foot width” but otherwise very little other signage.

On arrival we were met by Diana who gave us a warm welcome and showed us over The Granary. There was a lovely sponge cake to for us to eat with afternoon tea.

We also had one of Diana’s lovely “Ready to Eat” evening meals of organic beef burgers/rolls with salad and chocolate roulade, strawberries and clotted cream. The cost of £10 per head, was very reasonable. The dining table seated all 16 of us and is huge!!

Nine of our party did the clay shooting, with tuition from Diana’s son, which was great fun and we also had a competition. There is also a games room with a pool table and dartboard which kept the younger members of our party occupied! Unfortunately the ladies in our party wanted to do the Pampering sessions but these were booked up. I would suggest to book early, if these are required.

Unfortunately the whole area did suffer a power failure for most of the Sunday morning but the “new” generator which was only installed last year, was brought into action and kept us going with the basics for one kettle and also kept the water pumps and lights running. The power failure however did wake a few of us up at 5.15am, with the fire alarm control panel bleeping a warning for about an hour, until the generator was started, because of the continuous on/off, of the power.

The area surrounding the Granary and farmhouse is lovely, although fairly hilly and we enjoyed some lovely walks around the farm. The Valiant Soldier pub in Roadwater is about a mile away and we had some great meals there, all reasonably priced. However the walk back up hill is a bit of a struggle!

The only slight adverse comments from some in our party, were that the duvets were a bit thick, especially for warm summer nights and the couple who had the second floor master bedroom, were woken early with the light summer mornings, as there were no blackout blinds on the Velux rooflights. Electrical blinds or a pole adapter would be needed here. The two bedrooms on the 1st floor had very small bathrooms and walk in showers, compared to all the other rooms and there were small handbasins in the bedrooms, rather than in the bathrooms.

However, none of this spoilt a very enjoyable weekend. Would we go back? Yes, without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We sayed in the luxurious Granary Barn.
The barn is breathtaking and wonderfully presented with beds that you sank into. The hot tub also went down a treat.
The roads surrounding the area are incredibly narrow and at times tricky to navigate, if you are planning lots of outings this may not be the place for you. Having said that everything you could possibly need is all under one roof, so there's no need to go anywhere. It's a perfect weekend hide-a-way.
Jonh and Diana are fantastic hosts and even rescued us when the car broke down. Ture knights is shining amour.
I cannot reccomend a stay here enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
4.3 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#1 of 10 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
11.8 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Advent Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Advent Farm

Property: Wood Advent Farm
Address: Roadwater, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wood Advent Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wood Advent Farm in the Exmoor National Park provides first class bed & breakfast accommodation in beautiful surroundings. Located near the village of Roadwater, in West Somerset, the organic farm is idyllically situated in wonderful countryside making it the perfect place to get away from it all. During their stay guests can enjoy delicious four-course dinning each evening with fresh local produce as well as a wide range of activities from walking and cycling to clay shooting and spa treatments. There is a heated swimming pool in the grounds for guests' to use, and plenty of space in the gardens surrounding the house, with garden chairs and tables tucked away so you can always find a peaceful corner to relax in. Whatever type of holiday you are looking for, activity filled or more relaxing, we will do our best to make sure you enjoy every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wood Advent Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Advent Farm Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing