We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Living”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Set in extensive grounds, within easy reach of Wells and the Cheddar Gorge, this is the archetypical country house hotel. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was extremely comfortable, and the service was attentive, including the caffetiere of coffee at 8am to get us going before breakfast! The hotel is not for those with mobility problems - it is Grade 1 listed, and there are therefore no lifts. We were nicely looked after by Ian in the restaurant - at both dinner and breakfast - and the food was delicious, particularly after an appetite-enhancing walk around Cheddar Gorge, which we felt entitled us to "gorge" ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinSpencer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 684 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived at Ston Easton in the middle of driving rain and mud, but found a very warm welcome. The house is a bit of a maze, but had all the necessary amenities and was beautifully furnished. The four-poster bed we had was so comfortable it was difficult to get up in the mornings! Wifi is meant to be available throughout the building, but in reality we were only able to get a signal downstairs in the drawing-room.
Breakfast is an excellent hot meal, made to order, supplemented by fruit and cereal, etc. We had room service one night which was a bit pricey and came in small portion sizes, but was quite tasty. The service at breakfast was a little slap-dash, but otherwise the staff were very pleasant and friendly.
The grounds are extensive and great for a relaxing walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to explore Somerset.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Dropped in for afternoon tea recently. Looks like a wonderful country pile with rolling grounds. Inside very shabby, old world country style. Chipped cofffe tables, cigarette burns on furniture. We tried to sit outside but the metal chairs had no cushions. Decided to sit in the main lounge. The waiter appeared with an overly large white designer watch and a welcome like this "hello folks how we are doing today". Too casual. The tea cups were from a Little Chef and looked incongruous in the elegant lounge. No fork to pick the sugar from the bowl. Cheesy jazz music was wrong. The receptionist was pleasant but her vivid make-up was more appropriate for Superdrug. The tiny toilet was called a cloakroom and looked like a broom cupboard. The nasty old hand santizer bottle by the sink was not a good look. I just didn't get this place. It promises so much but delivers average 3-4 star product. £9.50 for two teas. Make up your own mind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvenidaMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel as an extremely last minute mini break to celebrate my graduation. What a lovely place to stumble across! Rooms were comfortable and clean, with bottles of water replaced daily. We stayed in a standard room which overlooked a small courtyard. Nicely furnished and decorated. Bed was comfortable (although too hot to sleep under the covers); we also enjoyed flicking through the Country Life magazines and picking out our dream houses! Staff friendly and very helpful, very knowledgeable about the area. The electric fan they managed to provide during the heat wave was greatly appreciated! The house itself is a maze of corridors and there is a large estate which would take a good few hours to explore. The kitchen garden is amazing! Unfortunately we did not have as much time as we would have liked to spend exploring the estate as our itinerary was pretty packed most days.
The chef at the hotel is clearly very talented and the food that we had on the first night was absolutely delicious. We decided to choose from the lighter “bar” menu as we weren’t hungry enough for a 3 course meal and the fixed price/taster menus were quite pricey. The fillet steak was cooked to perfection, as was the smoked haddock risotto. The sorbets on the menu were unusual flavours (grapefruit, nutmeg) and worth a taste.
Breakfast each morning was also really good quality – tea, coffee, juice, cereals, pastries, yoghurts and cooked food (including a full English, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, haddock and kippers) were available each day. My boyfriend is gluten free and he was served gluten free toast each morning without us having to remind the staff – a first for any hotel we have ever stayed in!
The hotel is situated approx. 10 miles from Bath and we were well positioned to visit several places of interest during our stay, including Weymouth (90min drive), Stonehenge (60 min drive), Cheddar gorge (30 min drive) and Bath city centre (20min).
All in all a wonderful last minute getaway and a lovely first trip to this part of England. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor tend to be very hot in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medstudent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We wanted an English manor house experience on our trip to the English countryside and we found just what we wanted. The property was elegant but inviting. The spaniel Oscar was parked the near the front door by the mud boots, offering a friendly tail wag when approached. The staff was English in attitude and attire. Victor, who showed us to our rooms, was a favorite. We had Pimms on the terrace after our arrival to soak up the atmosphere.

The rooms were all quite different. Ours did not have the best view, but the room was large and well appointed and the bathroom was up to date and expansive. We slept well with the windows open and the sounds of the English countryside to soothe us. We travelled the area each day, but I could have easily spent the day walking the gardens or reading in the library or drawing room, which I did at night.

The included breakfast was outstanding; you could order a specially prepared English breakfast at no extra charge, but the spread of fresh goodies was usually enough for our group.

Due to our travels, we did not eat in the restaurant for dinner or lunch. But everything looked inviting, though the prix fixe evening menu was pricey.

All in all, it was exactly what we wanted, our little taste of Downton Abbey.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the front or back of the estate would both work as both were lovely; the back wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We drove up the long drive to the front of the house, looking at it from the outside I did not expect the inside, its a beautiful house but needed a little attention. We checked In in a very different way as we were shown to our room by a very lovely receptionist, it was a long way up but well worth the climb on entering the room we filled out the checking in papers and were given our key as the receptionist left us to settle in. What can I say, the room was stunningly beautiful, small seating area, bedroom, bathroom and another small dressing area, the best was the balcony terrace looking out over the whole back garden. The room had no tea and coffee facilities which would have been nice, tea and coffee was available anytime anywhere in the hotel though. The gardens are beautiful especially the veggie and flower gardens where all the fresh produce comes from for the restaurant. Very clean and very comfortable throughout the hotel. This is a very stately place to stay it almost feels like you are visiting a very posh relative, as everyone is very friendly but professional and you are made to feel very welcome and special. My husband is a very fussy eater and I had emailed the hotel in advance as to whether they could just do plain food for him, they said it wasn't a problem. So on our first evening the waitress taking the order offered my husband food that was not on the regular menu, he was chuffed to bits to say the least and the food that he ate was "the best he had ever had" Compliments to the chef as to please my hubby with food is a very difficult service. The restaurant is not cheap but the food was well worth every penny, such a lovely atmosphere and no rushing with fantastic service very attentive waiting staff. Breakfast was every bit as good, we could have taken ours on our balcony but my hubby likes to go down for breakfast. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, the only down side is that its just a little to far away from our home to pop over for a weekend break, 5 hours is a long drive. Thank you for the best time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MummyChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just back from a mini-break at this hotel where we enjoyed excellent service, wonderful surroundings and the open-air ballet which was superb and the main reason for our being at the hotel, as we combined our stay with the dinner and ballet festival. The staff are outstanding and we were spoiled rotten during our visit. We were very lucky with the excellent weather since this enabled us to enjoy both the grounds and the ballet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ston Easton
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,384 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ston Easton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ston Easton Park Hotel

Address: Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ston Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Price Range: $206 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ston Easton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ston Easton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ston Easton Park Bath
Hotel Ston Easton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing