We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling food, pathetic service”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Appalling food, pathetic service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here a little while ago, but we are inspired to write this review on reading the unusually positive comments made by others. We felt we should share our horrible experience of lunch at this pub.

On arriving in the pub, we received a rather unfriendly greeting from the man behind the bar, but were shown to our table in the empty and run-down dining room. Because we were a little on the late side, we ordered the battered cod with chips and peas. When it arrived, one smell of the fish was enough to tell us that it was off. We were able to eat the accompanying cheese and chips, but when we pointed out to the waitress that the fish was inedible, she merely said 'I'll tell the chef'. We never received any explanation, and were obliged to pay in full.

I have to say, it was one of the worst eating experiences of my life. AVOID.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

En route home after a disastrous overnight hotel stop elsewhere, looking for a decent lunch, we revisited this town centre pub where we'd had a good meal some years before. We had an excellent Sunday lunch, supplied at moderate cost, and without a prior booking. Helpful and welcoming staff, in spite of it being very busy. Unpretentious, good solid English pub fare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Only stayed for one night it was very clean and comfortable. The bed was a bit old it had the old fashioned springs so creaked a bit and every time you moved you rolled together. The bathroom could do with an overhaul and maybe some non slip lino would be better. The breakfast was perfectly cooked to order so you dont get anything that has been hanging around and there was plenty to choose from and if its not on the menu you only have to ask. Lovely helpful staff as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Like others before room 5 was tatty and dirty, very small and I have seen bigger wardrobes than the en suite. Odd breakfast menu sausage bacon and egg ( thats it). I wouldnt repeat the experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerton hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Staff really helpful And friendly, pub busy for a Wednesday, good food menu with a lot of choice.

Able to dine in the restaurant or bar area. Good selection of drinks.

Food was tasty -good grub, nothing special but homely & friendly. Dont be put off if the curtains are closed at 8pm!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The landlord was really helpful, friendly without being familiar and the food was proper English pub meals at good prices.

My Mother tried the freshly caught trio of Cornish fish, pronouncing it delicious, while I went for sauteed mushrooms in cream and garlic to start, followed by steak, ale and mushroom pie.

Nothing fancy, just decent food, sensible pricing and a nice atmosphere. I wish I was more local and could visit regularly.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlesm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed for 1 night prior to the Tour of Wessex cycle race. The Hotel was full, of cyclists, of course, all of whom had an early 7am start for the race the next day. But the nice management at the Hotel forget to mention KARAOKE NIGHT!!!!! It was meant to start at 8.30pm according to the blackboard in the bar, but it was only getting set up at 10pm. It didn't finish, with it's Spinal Tap volumes, until after 12.30pm, (i'm sure the pictures on the walls of our bedroom were shaking), and the quaint locals (i.e pissed and very very loud crowd), didn't leave till about 2.30am.
Cyclists DON'T EVEN THINK OF USING THIS PLACE BEFORE THE TOUR OF WESSEX, everyone else, ask the nice management what entertainment and crowd are expected before you make you reservations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scozzie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
8.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: West Street, Somerton TA11 7PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing