We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited capability for large parties during busy lunchtimes”
Review of The Quarry Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Quarry Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good honest Somerset country Pub with good home made food , Beef , mushroom and red wine Pie last Sunday for instance,.Good Value hearty portions and smaller portions for those who want it. Good neighbourly crowd of regular customers who make visitors seem welcome. Have eaten there a number of times over the last eighteen months and never been dissapointed ,just worried about ny waistline with their lovely deserts.Always a good vegetarian choice available.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Limited capability for large parties during busy lunchtimes”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

As part of a large party in the function room on a Sunday lunchtime it was apparent that either the kitchen could not keep with a full bar and a full function room at the same time or that there were insufficient waiting staff. Everyone in the party had made their meal selection weeks beforehand. After a long wait the main course arrived with overcooked beef and roast potatoes, and an inedible burnt rubbery flattened Yorkshire pudding (more like a frisby) . The pate starter could have been served with toast rather than crumbly dry oaty biscuits. The fruit crumble and ice cream was good, as was the cheese board

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spain0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional well run village pub”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've been here numerous times with my family and a few times on my own, as we used to live in the village. David is the affable Landlord/Proprietor and he runs a tight ship, in a good way. The place is comfortable warm and clean with a good pub menu lunchtimes and evenings. Additional choices are Available via the ever changing specials board. Everything available is good value for money, and one of the things I like most about this pub is that the food is consistently nice quality. There is a good range of beers lagers and other drinks on draught, as well as a wine list if you like to quaff a few glasses with your meal like I do. The staff are friendly and efficient and the place has a good sociable atmosphere without being too noisy. So a good place to bring your family for lunch or dinner, a place to treat your oldies on a spacial occasion, or even just somewhere to sneak off to when nobody's looking and have a few swifties on the quiet!! - Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Christmas Meal”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We've previously had our christmas meals at The Quarry but for the last couple of years have gone elsewhere. This year we came back & it was fantastic. We had a party of 32 & the food was ready within 15 minutes of us getting there. It came out on time & all at once which was nice for a change instead of people finishing their meals before the last orders came out. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly making our meal even more enjoyable. It was a great atmosphere to be in & they catered to us with top customer service. The food was lovely & all dishes came out nice & hot. Enjoyable experience and would definitely recommend a party to have their meal at The Quarry. Will definitely be visiting there again in the near future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas meal”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Fantastic christmas meal at the Quarry last year. Also tried numerous lunchtime meals on a Sunday and have to say they are freshly cooked and taste great taste. Plenty of space to take the children, especially in summer with the beer garden and playhouse to amuse the kids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner can't be served at 7pm unless the kitchen is in action before then.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

On the Quarry Inn website it says that dinner is served from 7pm, so I booked a table for 7pm, but when I got there at about 10 minutes to, the place was in darkness. The lights went on, and the door opened at 7pm. As far as I can see, there were no lights on in the kitchen before that, so really, the kitchen staff had to start switching things on, preparing etc actually at 7. Consequently, although we had ordered by about 7.20. we weren't served until 8.10pm. The pub was full, so it may be that it was short-staffed and with more people wanting to eat than usual, so we could give them the benefit of the doubt and think it might not always be so slow. The menu, esp the veggie options, sounded interesting and original, but personally, I found the food a little disappointing when it finally got to us. We didn't dare risk ordering a dessert in case it took ages to get to us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quarry Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Quarry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing