We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lynch Country House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. Mike and staff were really welcoming and did everything to make sure our stay was a happy one. i would visit again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
59
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rarely do quiet ambience, quality of food, furnishings and comfort of the highest order come together in one establishment as they do in this listed country house. Located a short distance from Somerton's attractive High Street and square, with their several good eating places, Lynch House is a haven of peace set in extensive grounds with a tree-shaded lake providing a home for black swans and families of mallard. Our bedroom ('Goldington') and en-suite bathroom were spotless, and tastefully furnished with interesting antique pieces including a four-poster bed. A widescreen tv is provided, and complimentary wi-fi allows you to keep in touch with the outside world.

The excellent buffet and cooked breakfast is served in a more recent light and airy extension constructed to an exacting period standard in the form of an orangery. Photographs and artefacts of the big band era line the walls which, together with a baby grand piano, reflect the jazz musician background of the house's personable and welcoming owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My only regret about staying here was that we'd only booked one night; I think we might have redesigned our trip if we'd known what it would be like. The owners obligingly put an extra bed into one of the elegant bedrooms in the house to accommodate us, and there was every comfort - antique furniture, bathrobes in the bathroom, and a beautiful view of the garden. There were all sorts of delicious things for breakfast, including smoked salmon, and the crowning pleasure was after we'd had our own breakfast to go out into the garden to watch the black swans being given theirs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with daughter and dog in the Coach House. Rooms are nicely decorated with a very good bed. The breakfast was excellent. The owners are nice snd have good recommendations for the area. Would love to come back any time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph-Fahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Four of us were on an ancestry trip to Somerton recently and we stayed at this beautiful place. It had and idyllic setting with a pond and black swans. The breakfasts were well prepared and delicious and the staff was always there. We absolutely enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go back.
Stuart and Ginny Fraser-Telluride, CO

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuTelluride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I love this hotel! This June was my second visit and was thoroughly spoiled as usual. For the second time I was put into the coach-house and loved its beauty and comfort and the total privacy of my room. The breakfast is heavenly and I really enjoyed the service and company of he lovely lady who prepares it all.
I have good friends in Somerton so am glad I shall have the excuse to return!

Room Tip: I have no tips. Have been well looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugosa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lynch House on 4 separate occasions. Each time we had a comfortable room in the coach house. The owner and the staff are friendly and helpful. The main building and coach house are 200 years old and set in beautiful grounds. One of the best hotel breakfasts I have had is served in the orangery and the swans wandering around in the gardens outside add to experience.
The Lynch House is the opposite of the anodyne chain hotels found throughout the world.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
4.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Property: The Lynch Country House
Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing