We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed over Easter weekend, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was very clean staff are very welcoming and friendly, very enjoyable stay. The setting is very peaceful .
Swans ducks and other wildlife roam in the relaxing setting. Even just sitting and looking over the views would be a perfect thing to do hear.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited this hotel last year for one night and were so impressed we went back for 4 nights. Last time we stayed in the Coach House which was excellent but, as gas works were being carried out outside the hotel, they moved us to a premier room - Somerton - in the main house. As always, this is a beautiful old house with a great warm feeling when you arrive and stay. The full english breakfast is excellent and so large it will see you through the day. On this occasion we met Roy Coleman, the owner. Now we know why when breakfasting in the Orangery it is delightfully decorated with a grand piano and photographs of famous jazz players. This is because Roy Coleman is a jazz musician of some repute. If staying in and around Somerton this is the hotel for you. It is centrally located for Glastonbury and Street (excellent shopping). It is also only 5 minutes away from the town centre of Somerton. If you want a curry visit the Spice Gallery opposite the very quiet car park. No ambience and very small, but excellent food and very friendly service. The unicorn pub serves excellent pub grub but we thought it was a little expensive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the Somerton room overlooks the gardens with a lake that has 4 black swan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here overnight with my husband and two girls age 5 and 6 after a wedding nearby.
We had the Kendal room with our own private bathroom across the landing. Couldn't fault anything! The room was plenty big enough for the 4 of us, spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious. Definitely would recommend and hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a piece of luck finding this lovely country hotel hidden amongst the trees in Somerton.
We had the whole Coach House for our party coming from Alexandria, VA for a christening in Keinton Mandeville. All the rooms and adjoining bathrooms were wonderfully decorated in true country style. There was even a small glassed-in foyer where we could have a small champagne toast when we all arrived.
The breakfast gave new meaning to the phrase 'Full English'....with fresh berries; juices; smoked salmon and cereals in addition to the usual eggs bacon etc....marvellous.
The service was polite and efficient. The grounds are beautiful with a lake and black swans.
and to top it all it was within walking distance of the centre of Somerton with all its pubs and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A lovely Georgian house and annexe set in pretty grounds complete with black swans and a small lake. A first class greeting on arrival before showing us our room ("Wessex") situated in the annexe. A pleasant comfortable room with double doors onto the garden, although on arrival it was a little too cold for comfort. It had most things you require for a pleasant nights stay but although a fair sized room did not have anywhere for the suitcase or anywhere to put things down apart from the bedside tables which were small. It would also have been nice to have had bedside lamps on both sides of the bed not just one. Need to make sure that the rooms are kept to standard - not a good look when the old bedside radio/clock is found hidden behind the curtains with the cord wrapped round it. The shower was next to useless - would not stay in its holder. When we pointed this out on our departure we did not receive any apology just "it was OK a few days ago!" On a positive note - very good breakfast in a lovely orangery but the morning welcome could have been warmer! Overall we enjoyed our stay but for £90 a night maybe a little more attention to detail would be good.Would we return - possibly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Lynch Country House B and B whilst in Somerset for a work trip but it also coincided with my birthday so we "upgraded" to the Lynch, paying £115 for the Edington Room B and B. It is a lovely Georgian House with an imposing frontage and lovely formal gardens complete with black swans. It's a pity that it rained non-stop as we couldn't really enjoy the outside. The room was nice if a lttle dated for our taste and the bed very comfortable. En-suite was large but again I think could do with an update. I would have appreciated some little luxury touches such as nice toiletries, fresh milk with our in room tea/coffee. The hosts were perfectly pleasant and were efficient as the brought us up some champagne to our room that a couple of friends had arranged for me. However, I felt they were lacking that warmth that makes a place like this super special. Breakfast in the conservatory was great and very nicely presented. Probably wouldnt stay there again as there are so many other nice places to try and it wasn't exceptional for the price.

Room Tip: If you want space and can afford it, choose one of the pricier rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at The Lynch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are always very pleased to receive our guests feedback as it helps us to assess our operation and to see where we are meeting or exceeding our guests expectations. We are certainly aware that there is a lot of choice for the traveller out there and we do always try to give the individual service and attention to detail that we would expect when we stay away from home.

We were very proud to receive the Tripadvisor 'Travellers' Choice' Award for 2013 directly as a result of our guests comments and recommendations for consistently achieving this.

We do try to engage on a personal and appropriate level with guests whilst always being mindful not to be too intrusive and we are most happy to discuss dining recommendations, places to visit and things to do and to arrange for transport if necessary as well as just to chat about the long history of the house where we feel our guests would like to.

On this occasion and with a nice bottle of bubbly and a couple of iced flutes in the room as a gift for a special occasion, we opted not to spoil the moment and retired, possibly a little quicker than normal.

The house last year was 200 years old and is indeed 'dated' being very much in the Georgian 'Regency' style with decoration and many original furnishings to match although we have had to update the sleeping arrangements a little!! Toiletries are individual Mandarin and Bergamot from Duck Island who bill themselves as 'Life's Little Luxury' and fresh milk, whilst not put in rooms, is always available on request.

We are very sorry to hear that on his rare occasion our guests where underwhelmed with what the Lynch has to offer, not helped I'm sure by the fact that is was a miserable, wet, grey and cold February day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stopped off here with friends on our way to a holiday in Cornwall and as it was snowy, we were pleased not to have to make the journey in one day, although roads were fine. Well located close to A303 and also close to the outlet village at Street, which was part of the reason we decided to stop here! It enabled us to combine shopping with travelling, always a nice way to break up a long journey.

I was in a room called Alderley which is a small double on the top floor. As a single traveller I was looking for the cheapest option and the room was cute but I did spend most of the time I was in the room in a stooped position, as the eaves make the headroom very tight! For one night it was fine but I think I might have developed a permanent stoop after a while if I had stayed longer. The four friends I was travelling with were all located in the coach house and given that they were very quiet that night, I didn't really understand why they didn't put me in the empty room next to them - after all changing one double bed is much similar to another and I would have been able to stand up when getting in and out of bed then!! Apart from the lack of headroom, room well well equipped and warm and I slept well, so no complaints about that.
An easy five minute walk into the town where there is a choice of pubs to eat at. We chose the Unicorn and enjoyed a couple of bottles of nice Sauvignon Blanc and some good pub grub. Bar lady was very friendly and cheery. Breakfast at The Lynch in the morning was good - no problems there. Plenty of parking space, nice grounds, easy to find - lots of things going for it. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The website does give you an impression of the rooms but it doesn't really mention that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
64 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
250 reviews
8.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range: $86 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing