We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, I'll certainly return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2011

A gem in the small, pretty town of Somerton. Really friendly welcome from Mike the manager and from owner Roy Copeland. The rooms are extremely comfortable and decorated and fitted to a very high standard, everything oozes quality, the beds are absolutely huge and extremely comfortable. Highlight for me was the breakfast - magnificent grub, huge choice, again all very high quality, in a lovely bright room with superb views of the grounds. My stay was driven by needing to deal with a family matter and somewhat stressful, but going back to the Lynch at the end of the day really helped me wind down. I'm already looking at dates for a relaxing break in the autumn!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horndeanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

First visit to Somerset (with more to come for family reasons) and the Lynch Country House Hotel was a good choice for somewhere to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms - in our case in the Coach House - offering easy access, but a little smaller than in the main house. Our host Mike and his team were very welcoming and the English breakfast was first rate. The Lynch Country House is on the edge of Somerton, offering expansive quiet gardens but only a few minutes walk from the centre and its pubs, restaurants and shops. In short, a good choice for somewhere to stay in this part of the country. We expect to return to the Lynch Country House again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Once a year, my wife and I go on a cycling/walkiing couple of days with two other couples. This means that one year in three we are the organising couple. The limitations are that the area should be within approximately 50 miles radius of Wimborne, not too many hills, quiet roads, interesting scenery and a good B&B. The Somerton area forefilled all these criteria and the B&B in particular left us with an imposing number of "Brownie Points" that the couple organising next years trip are going to find difficult to match!

Room Tip: The thee we had all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor_rothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May whilst taking part in a cycling event. It was the perfect place to unwind after a hard day in the saddle. We stayed in the room with the 4 poster bed as this was the only room left when we booked and I am very happy to say it was worth the cost. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the big bath with copious hot water and big fluffy robes was just the ticket. The breakfast was first class, a very good selection of top quality food. The owners were thoughtful and helpful but not overly so and we have no hesitation in recommending this B&B. My only suggestion to our hosts would be to have larger cups in the rooms for tea and coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We spent 4 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May while participating in an annual 3-day cycling event based in Somerton. The hotel provided a beautiful haven of calm after hectic days and strenuous exertions!
Our room was in the Coach House and it could be described as 'compact' though this is, I think, reflected in a competitive room rate. The interior is traditional country house style in keeping with the genteel surroundings, but the excellent (new) bed & duvet, flat-screen tv and free Wi-Fi access meant you have the benefits of a modern hotel. The shower was excellent after chilly days in the saddle!
Breakfast was superb - a good selection of cereals & seasonal fresh fruit, juices etc. plus very good cooked breakfast choices based around traditional 'English' breakfast model. The Full English (scoffed on final morning) had both black and white pudding - classy.
The gardens are lovely, very calming. Somerton itself has plenty of dining options within very easy walking distance - the Market Bar & Bistro offers an excellent menu, the Unicorn Hotel provides solid traditional meals.
Mike and Chris were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive and we would have no hesitation in returning or recommending a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here for a cycling weekend in August 2011 (drop down only went to June ?) and found the hotel was the perfect country retreat. Peaceful gardens with a lake, a very large luxurious, comfortable room, and a delicious breakfast complete with strawberries.
Manager Mike was welcoming and helpful in many ways, and the town centre is a five minute walk away for several dining options. Thank you and we will happily recommend The Lynch to friends.
Michael and Patricia, London.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patcarden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very peaceful country house hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Beautiful gardens and very comfortably furnished.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
17.8 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
65 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
8.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
139 reviews
16 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range: $105 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lynch Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Lynch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing