We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch”
Review of Market Bar and Bistro - CLOSED

Market Bar and Bistro
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Market bar & Bistro in Somerton will be re- opening from 1st August 2013 with brand new owners Description A surprise awaits you as you step in to this 16th Century market house which is now The Market Bar & Bistro. We are a contemporary modern bistro with a cosy, informal atmosphere in the center of historic Somerton. Ideally suited for lunchtime and evening diners, The Market Bar is the perfect meeting place for drinks or enjoying fine dining in stylish surroundings with great atmosphere. Our food is locally sourced and Homemade. Monday to Friday Lunchtimes we have a 2 course menu for £9.95 From 12pm till 2pm, we also have a separated Specials board at lunchtimes and evenings. Our opening hours are Monday to Sunday lunchtimes food is served from 12pm till 2pm and Monday to Saturday evenings food served from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm, Closed Sunday Evening Fiona, Duncan & Avril have been in the business for many years and look forward to seeing old and new faces for our next adventure.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just popped in on the off chance as we were in the area (don't know why I didn't check TripAdvisor - but hey) and could not have been more delighted! Guinness was perfect and the meal itself was just divine. We had to wait a short while for the table so might be better to book. Well worth a visit - and we will be going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    14
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Impromptu dinner”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We decided to eat out one night and thought of the newly reopened Market Bar. My wife and I had a great meal in delightful surroundings. The landlady and team were very friendly and inviting. we were so impressed We will be dining their again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Thought we would just have a drink !!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were just driving by,and my wife suggested we call in just for a drink, because it looks nice and old and quaint...(500 years)...we ordered our drinks and got into conversation with Fiona, and Duncan, we didnt realise they were the owners.....and discovered they had only been open 6/7 weeks, and they have worked VERY hard to make the place nice. we decided to have a meal there, its a very nice menu, with a fair amount of local produce, which cant be bad !!........the meal was excellant and expertly cooked by Duncan, and all at reasonable prices....which will make people return, we will !!!!.........and I bought a big bag of wild mushrooms from one of their local supplyers.......really delicious.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Market Bar in Somerton”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

New owners have taken over this place in the last 7 weeks and from the moment you walk in they could not have been more friendly. The food, atmosphere and value was absolutely outstanding we would definitely go there again ! Can definitely recommend the crab and scallop mornay !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pen244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We went out as a foursome for an anniversary meal..
Menu choice very good.
Restaurant busy but service very good.
Food very nicely cooked, decent portions, good value for money..
All three courses very good..
Would recommend and will be back...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somerset_wanderers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
Somerton, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing