We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but delightful”
Review of Lytes Cary Manor

Lytes Cary Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small but delightful”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The property consists of only half a dozen dark rooms, but they are wonderfully well preserved, and still have that musty smoky smell to them. Very evocative. The grounds are an interesting mix, and a birdwatcher's paradise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    120
    28
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens, Beautiful House”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The gardens at Lytes Cary are beautifully cared for and offer a tranquil walk, time to sit and relax, and just ''be''. The Manor House is not large, but contains some stunning furniture, glassware, and china. The guides are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. There is a stone spiral staircase to the upper floor of the Manor House, which could be tricky for some to negotiate.

There is a Simple Foods kiosk, offering drinks, snacks and ice creams, but not meals as such. The undercover seating area is welcome, but could be chilly on a blustery day. The toilet and baby changing facilities are a good standard. The NT gift shop is as you'd expect, and there are usually plenty of plants for sale also.

A little walk from the Manor House is an outside children's play area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great for plants!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A beautiful place to walk around, with wonderful gardens. The nursery shop is definitely worth a visit for plants which are strong and healthy, and encourage you to buy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Take your own packed lunch!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I love this beautiful National Trust manor house. We live locally and visit quite often either on our own or with friends when they come to stay. The house is superb, the volunteers exceptional and the garden is kept beautifully and a credit to all concerned.

But ...beware of the catering provision! I have some sympathy because there is currently no restaurant, as such at this NT property. My understanding is that plans are afoot to build same in a sympathetic conversion in the not too distant future, but in the meantime, refreshments are provided from a portacabin building surrounded by an outside seating area. Great, if the weather is clement and warm but on the day we visited at the start of the season, there was a howling gale and the temperature was 3 degrees ... hardly conducive to dining alfresco!

If that weren't enough, we ordered home made soup which was served luke warm and was completely bland and my husband ordered a baked potato which was served almost cold. We did take this back and it was reheated, but the resulting temperature was still unacceptable and the potato was thrown in the bin. Again, I sympathise that the staff are trying to provide a catering service in less than ideal conditions, but food should be served to a minimum standard or not at all. In this case, my own opinion is that hot drinks only should be served until adequate provision is made to up the anti!

Disappointing. As per the title of this review, you'd be advised to take your own refreshments to avoid disappointment until a new restaurant is provided!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very cold trip”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The manor house was very interesting and the national trust volunteers extremely helpful, they deserved medals as the house was not heated and it was extremely cold in fact it was warmer outside than inside. The gardens and grounds were beautiful and well worth spending time wandering.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lytes Cary Manor also viewed

 

Been to Lytes Cary Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing