We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Pub serving unprentious but excellent pub grub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Globe Inn

The Globe Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Real Pub serving unprentious but excellent pub grub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We love the Globe Inn. The food served is excellent 'pub grub'. It's not pretending to be anything other than what it is. An old fashioned pub with a very warm welcome from the lovely staff, excellent food. great atmosphere and very reasonably priced. It's a winner for us!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTraveler190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, Somerset, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Globe Inn is a hidden gem in the market town of Somerton. Tucked behind the Buttercross, it woudl be easy to miss it!

However, step inside and you receive a warm welcome and the pub is both traditional and modern and it retains it's historic charm with beautiful pictures all around of Somerton of bygone days.

The landlord was absolutely charming when he took my booking on the phone and that level of friendliness and charisma was demonstrated by all the staff.

My meal was faultless and plentiful. I had two course, as the food is plentiful and of excellent quality. My fillet steak was succulent and cooked perfectly to order. The service was prompt and professional. I had a great night out. There are no gimmicks here, just good quality food which is well priced and delicious. What more could you ask for. Thank you Globe Inn. You made a lovely evening out an exceptional one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pub grub tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

cheap meals, but this place defo needs tarting up, we went for a evening meal and not complaining about price the food was ok, but won't be rushing back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely food in newly modernised venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had an afternoon snack meal here - before the 6pm evening meal deadline - Mediterranean pizza on thin base, with crispy chunky chips while our friends had two other mouthwatering dishes; recommended and the Globe has just been modernised and is a great venue. All the staff were accommodating and pleasant. We ate in the garden on a sunny afternoon and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoisyParkser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely pub,, we walked in and the atmosphere was lovely,, the bar staff greeted us with big friendly smiles an held a lovely conversation,, we were seated straight away and drinks were with us within seconds of ordering,, the landlord and lady were about the pub doing there usual business but didn't hesitate to stop and say hello,, they have a friendly dog who patters about and loves children,, the beer garden is a sun trap and lovely to sit and enjoy a few drinks,, food is fantastic very good value and all local produce. Love music is often held here with lots if drinks and dancing. Overall this is a brilliant pub and I highly recommend a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
Somerton, Somerset
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing