We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a little slow of the mark”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The kitchen team are in all day and producing snacks as well as 3 course meals. You can eat anywhere you like and there is a wide selection of hot food available throughout the day. Children are also very welcome and we do a small menu for them or can offer cut down versions off the main menu. The menu is fresh, simple, local and special. Working with some exceptional local suppliers, the team’s aim is to demonstrate just how good West Country food can be.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but a little slow of the mark”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here for a friends birthday and upon arrival I was surprised at what a wonderful job had been done on the pub.
The bar staff seemed a little slow at service but I wasnt in a hurry so I didnt worry too much.
Once we were seated we had the menus and it all looked really lovely and I ordered the crab salad starer followed by the burger. It was all very nice the service was a little slow but it was a saturday lunchtime.
All in all a great time I shall be back in a month or two

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRamsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    74
    54
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A GOOD AND LIVELY RESTAURANT”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

From making the on line booking to paying the bill this was a really good experience.
We ate there on a Saturday evening in August. It was busy and thriving with the younger element of this part of south Somerset. Not a place for a quiet night out perhaps?
We were early and sat just off the bar on a large sofa and comfy chair having a pre-dinner drink.
We let a member of staff know that we were there early and he was most attentive letting us know how things were going around our allotted time. We were seated on time, orders were taken and excellent food produced at a timely rate. Course were delivered with acceptable intervals and no hovering waiting staff. Just the right balance!
Starters were good, small but of good quality. Mains were one meat, one fish and one veggie. All dishes were excellent and well presented.The wine was good quality and well priced.
Puddings were also taken and were good.
Overall, the locally sourced food was very good to excellent. Bar drinks were a touch pricey. Wine was more than acceptable. Service was good and unobtrusive. Ambience was great if not a little on the noisy side (perhaps your granny would find it a bit overly loud)
Price was more than fair for what we ate. Finally and always a plus, excellent, clean loo's!.
A definite return is destined soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indicara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The second Sunday lunch I have had here. Despite being really busy the service was good. I had perfect roast lamb, and the most delicious elderflower and white currant pud. Difficult to fault. Being Sunday it was easy to park in the buttercross parking area. The White Hart is a welcome addition to this part of Somerset. Open every day, - it is bound to be a success. Not cheap, and the wine list is quite steep, - but worth an occasional treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosieannieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Early days.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This pub needs time to settle down. The restaurant staff are friendly but need further training as simply being pleasant doesn't lead to good service. It was slow and forgetful. The dining areas need air conditioning or better ventilation and the trend for an 'eclectic' mix of antique shop individual pieces of furniture is old hat and a lucky dip as to whether you get a comfortable seat and stable table.
The menu is well constructed, of the right size and interesting. Food is nicely cooked, assembled and reasonably priced.
Worth another visit in a few weeks time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuswarpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm a fan of the Swan at Wedmore, so was excited to find that they had taken over the White Hart. It's now been open for two weeks, after a complete revamp. The décor is fabulous: this rambling old pub has had a new lease of life. The style is very similar to that of the Swan: chic and stylish, yet warm and laid-back at the same time. The wall-lamps on looped ropes are particularly fine, and the stag-horn wallpaper is a witty reference to the name of the pub. There's a courtyard garden and a back garden as well as loads of space inside. The inglenook table with sofa next to the huge fireplace in the bar looks really cosy.

The food is in the same spirit as the mothership's: modern and Mediterranean-influenced. The wood-fired oven is a great touch, and the bread was delicious. My starter was tempura courgette flower stuffed with crabmeat: stunning. The mackerel fillet with fennel got a good review, too. Mains were roasted vegetable salad with char-grilled halloumi for me (delicious) and steak with chimichurri sauce (excellent). The chips are outstanding. There's a good selection of wines by the glass, and the coffee isn't bad (though my flat white could have been stronger).

The staff are charming, service is good, and we left with large smiles on our faces. Well done to the team, and we'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNaturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing