We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food nice price”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The kitchen team are in all day and producing snacks as well as 3 course meals. You can eat anywhere you like and there is a wide selection of hot food available throughout the day. Children are also very welcome and we do a small menu for them or can offer cut down versions off the main menu. The menu is fresh, simple, local and special. Working with some exceptional local suppliers, the team’s aim is to demonstrate just how good West Country food can be.
west country uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good food nice price”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we decided at the last minute to go out for something to eat and thought we would try the white hart they found us a table with no fuss. we both had steak and asked for onion rings to go with it which turned out to be home made which came in a separate bowl to the rest of the food which tasted just great.the rst of the food was well cooked and tasted very good the atmosphere in the pub was pleasant and nothing was to much trouble the plate of food is more than enough and was resonably priced.we will be going back in the near future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somerset_wanderers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    74
    54
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service Made our evening”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I think we must have been served by the same helpful young man that others had referred to. Very welcoming and efficient. Nothing too much trouble. Enjoyed chatting to him.
Food was also very good. Could not fault my steak although my wife would have preferred her lamb a little bit pink. All very reasonably priced.
The pub was recommended by our guest house and noticeably busier than other venues in this very quiet market town and would seem to be the one to visit if in the area.

Helpful?
Thank ShaneForbesHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mol
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Romantic dinner”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A very good cuisine and not expensive at all!! The dinner room was nicely decorated. A very quiet place, with a friendly service

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank allietMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very helpful and accommodating”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We ate in the White Hart on the Monday and Tuesday nights of our stay at the Lynch Country House just up the road. On the Monday, which is apparently 'pie night', I really only fancied a salad or something light. On seing my dismay that there weren't any starters, or anything lighter/smaller on the menu, the extremely helpful young lad waiting, went off to ask the chef what they could offer me, and happily produced one of the 'light bites', an absolutely delicious prawn and avocado salad, which were apparently lunchtime only. The chef also came out to speak to us later to check all was okay. Another helpful lad the next night sorted it happily when my steak appeared with peas, instead of the advertised salad; again no problem! The landlord, landlady and the locals were all friendly and chatty, and we even had a couple of free games of pool on the Tuesday - apparently 'free pool' night. The dining room was very relaxing to eat in, although some people were eating in the bar

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memberChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice staff, disappointing beer & food”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very friendly staff and nice surroundings, and a good range of real ales and menu choices. But unfortunately the beer quality wasn't great - 2 of the ales were a bit warm and past their best, and the food portions were too small.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TurnerTrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
 
Langport, Somerset
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing