We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5* Luxury Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yew Tree at Church Farm
Ranked #5 of 11 Somerton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A 5* Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Yew Tree B&B with my husband for a weekend.

The Bed: The B&B has lovely rooms in a barn conversion next to the main house. Our room was newly refurbished with quaint vintage and country side elements: a large old wooden wardrobe, hot water bottles, beautiful wooden barn style doors. The room was comfortable with very good heating, good pressure shower, complimentary selection of teas, a kettle, tv, wifi, complimentary shampoo etc. One small downside was that we could sometimes hear the neighbours walking around a bit but that didn't really disturb us. When stepping outside there is a garden and a breathtaking view across the countryside. Location wise - it's a short 10mins drive from Glastonbury. A few off street parking spaces are available next to the B&B.

The Breakfast: is absolutely outstanding and at the level of top boutique 5* hotels. The breakfast room is in the main house with a fireplace and is beautifully designed. A bird feeder hangs outside the window so you can see birds visiting while you eat. Sarah (the owner) makes a delicious coconut yoghurt which is like nothing I have tried before. There is fresh fruit, toast, muesli, cornflakes, and any hot breakfast you could possibly wish for! The presentation of the food is beautiful with great attention to detail. The tea comes in an oriental metal teapot.

Overall we were really impressed by the quality of accommodation, service and food at Yew Tree. Absolutely outstanding!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you felt relaxed in your room and the countryside surrounding us. Am also really pleased to hear you enthuse about your breakfast, I'm glad I could accommodate you so well.

I hope to see you again,
Best wishes,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
92
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portishead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Yew Tree is in a lovely setting, very peaceful with amazing views of the countryside and the welcome we received was very friendly and warm. The room was very stylish with all amenities required for a comfortable stay and the breakfast was the best we have ever experienced at a B&B! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having spent most of the week searching for a reasonably priced, quaint, last minute get away for the weekend, we could not have asked for anything more than what we got! Upon arrival and throughout our stay Sarah was just wonderful, an excellent host with impeccable taste. Breakfast was cooked to our choice and the fresh fruit was delicious. We stayed in the Olive room which was spacious and cozy. Sarah recommended many a restaurants which we tried all driving distance and again just scrummy! Perfect, if you just need to get away! We will be going back and recommending this to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms you choose here will be adequate. All the finishing to this property are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for rating us so highly, I'm really pleased to have made you feel so welcome and I very much hope to see you again.

Best wishes, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my second stay at the Yew Tree. I would give it 6+ stars if I could! This time I stayed with my partner, for four nights, and we had the most wonderful experience. Sarah, once again, was the most gracious, warm, friendly and helpful host. The room (we stayed in the Willow Room) was warm, cosy, clean and well-appointed. The location is perfect - only a short drive to the delights of Glastonbury and beyond. And Sarah hand-prepares the most wonderful breakfasts imaginable with the freshest, most delicious ingredients - cereals, yoghurt, wonderful breads, eggs-any-style, sausage, bacon, fresh juices, delicious coffee... the list goes on. My partner is gluten intolerant and Sarah went out of her way to cater to her needs.

We couldn't have been happier at the Yew Tree - it was a shame to leave! Thankyou so much Sarah, and I urge you all to stay at this wonderful B&B in the most wonderful part of England.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for saying that you would rate us so high. I'm glad I could make your stay so memorable, I look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a lovely stay over the bank holiday weekend, our daughter really liked having her own room! Breakfast was a highlight, we loved the beautifully presented fresh fruit & lovely cooked breakfasts, made with local produce. Will look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hope to see you all again when you're next in the area.

best wishes, sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner Sarah and I stayed here a couple of years ago as a friend of ours was getting married near Somerton. What made the weekend so memorable was not only the lovely wedding but that we chose to stay in this lovely place. We recently returned (as a surprise for my Birthday!) over the bank holiday weekend in August because we enjoyed it so much previously. It really is a nice retreat with lot's to do! Sarah Love, the owner, makes everything seem chilled out and effortless. You have your own privacy as the rooms are separate (barn conversions) and nothing is too much trouble for Sarah if you need a taxi or would like to book a restaurant etc. The breakfast is fantastic with locally sourced sausages, eggs and bacon (if you fancy) cooked exactly to your liking and even at your desired time and a great selection of fruits, fresh bread and cereals. The country scenery is lovely, the local people are nice and always say hello. You cannot fault it! Good places to go are Glastonbury, cheddar gorge etc. Nice walks, good cycling. The white Hart in Somerton has been refurbed and is v nice and only £10 each way in a taxi if you fancy a glass or two of wine. However, as B and B's go this is right at the top of our list and we will return v soon! Stuart

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to see you guys again and know that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us-hope to see you again.

best wishes, sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading such amazing reviews about the yew tree we were excited about our visit and i have to say we were not disappointed. We stayed for a short 3 night break and enjoyed every minute. The breakfast was second to none lovely fresh ingredients cooked and presented perfectly. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed including some lovely little extras. Couldn't fault this place and would recommend again and again. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the olive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I'm really pleased your enjoyed your stay with us.

best wishes,
sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerton hotels
2.7 mi away
Cleers View Farm
Cleers View Farm
#2 of 11 in Somerton
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
The White Hart Somerton
The White Hart Somerton
#1 of 11 in Somerton
212 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mount Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsdon Inn
Kingsdon Inn
#3 of 11 in Somerton
13 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerton Court Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yew Tree at Church Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yew Tree at Church Farm

Property: The Yew Tree at Church Farm
Address: Church Farm School Lane | Compton Dundon, Somerton TA11 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yew Tree at Church Farm is a boutique bed & breakfast that has 4 individually designed en-suite rooms offering a warm, relaxed and friendly stay to anyone who just wants to get away from it all. Set in the heart of Compton Dundon, nestled between picturesque Lollover Hill & Dundon Beacon, with spectacular views over the somerset levels and Glastonbury Tor, we are perfectly positioned for the historic town of Somerton, Glastonbury and Clarkes Village outlet shopping ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yew Tree At Church Farm Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing